Three Vid Monitors?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2006, 01:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default Three Vid Monitors??

Have an ATI on my AGP socket, has dual outs, works great. Want to add a 3rd monitor. Get an nVidia PCI so there's no Windows driver conflicts? Not a gaming monitor so I guess I can get a cheapie 32MB?
__________________

Shakabrah2 is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 09:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default

i dont fink u can do that since u can only install a video driver from nvidia or ati. i dont fink u can have 2 video drivers installed. so u needa get another ATI pci.
__________________

__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 10:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Do not believe that XP will let you use the same drivers/driver names for 2
video cards.
After initializing the first card, XP freezes the driver files so that the
files cannot be copied, deleted, or used by a second card.

Two video cards work fine IF they are not using the same drivers - such as 1
nVidia card + 1 ATI card.
Shakabrah2 is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 02:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Try it and find out, they only cost $33:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814139150

Quote:
Originally posted by krazieaznboi
i dont fink u can do that since u can only install a video driver from nvidia or ati. i dont fink u can have 2 video drivers installed. so u needa get another ATI pci.
You realize that it's "think" not "fink" ... right? And "you" not "u" ... or were you trying to make your post impossible to read?
The General is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 02:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

if your video card has a dvi, get a splitter that goes to two d-subs. i'm not sure if that would work though.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 03:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Try it and find out, they only cost $33:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814139150



You realize that it's "think" not "fink" ... right? And "you" not "u" ... or were you trying to make your post impossible to read?

lol im just used to typing like that. sry if u cant read.
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 07:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Try it and find out, they only cost $33:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814139150

Why pay $33 for one? http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...24.99&CatId=28
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 11:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default

My Matrox G550 card has two outs - DVI and a VGA. I currently have two monitors. To run my 3rd monitor can I get a DVI splitter cord for the DVI out on the video card? That will run two monitors and then the 3rd can use the remaining out on the card? Make sense?? Will the card's 32MB of DDR memory run all three?

Or will using the DVI splitter just mirror the two DVI monitors? I want to be able to use all three monitors and click and drag diff things unto each one.
Shakabrah2 is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 11:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

NO if you split the signal the tow monitors will be sharing the same signal. So they will show a mirror image of each other.As far as i know its hit or miss with a dual card setup. You can use two of the same card brand but there will be alot of compatibility issues no matter what. One card is always going to want to be the primary.When i attempted this setup( i added a pci card to my already existing pci-e card) to try to get triple monitors it would work until i restarted my computer then my pci-e card would take over and disable the other one. I am still playing with it and if i get it working i will let you know how i did it.
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 12:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default

So Windows only sees one card I was thinking of both ATI and a nVidia, can pick up the nVidia for cheap, can't hurt to try. Only other option is to spend up to $300 and get a multi-out standalone box.
__________________

Shakabrah2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.