three questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2006, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Bokuwakakera
Default three questions

ok, I want to connect my two computors so that I can play LAN games of Americas army ect. what cable do I need to do this and do I need any software?

Can I print a document, from one of the computors, if I connect the two computors?

also, I have dial up, can I connect to the internet on both computors if I get a spilter box, and connect the phonecables to both computors, or will that not work?
__________________

Bokuwakakera is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 06:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

it would be simpler, but more expensive, if u got cable/adsl and connected them both to a router
most have a 4 port swicth on the back
and if u wanna spen a bit mor u can even get one that alows u to connect a printer
install the drivers on both pcs and voila
and also once u had that box all the cables u would need would be to cat5 cables
they would alsoo be set up for lan gaming then
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 06:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

^^^ Unfortunatly, broadband isn't available everywhere...

ok, yes, to connect the computers, you would have to use Cat 5 cable (recommend Cat 5e), and also, you have to make sure each PC has a NIC card. It looks like a phone jack, but wider, for 8 wires. If you are connecting the PC's DIRECTLY, the cable needs to be a CROSS-OVER cable. I recommend using a Straight through cable, and a cross over adaptor.

As far as the printer goes, if you have it connected to 1 computer, you can SHARE the printer with the other computer, and they will both be able to successfully print to it, without having to move cables, and reconnect this and that.

As far as getting both PC's online, you could do ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) on the PC that has the modem, or you can get a Dialup router like the Netgear FR328S, however, at $189 BEFORE shipping, it is VERY expensive, as there seems to be little market for a product like that. For info on ICS, there are some threads about it in the Networking & Internet Access forum.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 09:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Bokuwakakera
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ethereal_Dragon
^^^ Unfortunatly, broadband isn't available everywhere...

ok, yes, to connect the computers, you would have to use Cat 5 cable (recommend Cat 5e), and also, you have to make sure each PC has a NIC card. It looks like a phone jack, but wider, for 8 wires. If you are connecting the PC's DIRECTLY, the cable needs to be a CROSS-OVER cable. I recommend using a Straight through cable, and a cross over adaptor.

very true.

where could I buy one of the Cat 5, Raido Shack?
Bokuwakakera is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 01:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Pretty much any computer store around will have one.

And yes, most Radio Shacks have them. (Aren't they called TheSource now?)
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 01:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Yes, just about ANY PC retailer or electronics store would have it... Ask for "Cat 5e cable" or "RJ-45 cable"... they will be able to tell you if they have it. If you are out in the sticks, a call ahead would be best.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.