Thinking about getting a server... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2006, 12:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Thinking about getting a server...

I've used my laptop as a server for weeks, and I think it's time to get a real one.
(Sorry if this is the wrong forum.. it was either internet Q&A... and this is more hardware related than just internet)
What kind of server do you think I need? I do file hosting for my friend, a personal site with all my latest learnings and such (when i learn a nifty new CSS thing or something i use it on that site, i host a guild website with a forum and the works, and.. yea. last month i used 457 MB of bandwidth. my sites arent very busy.... so... yea....
we have a normal cable connection, but i don't know the absolute speed of it.
So, my question is, what kind of hardware do I need? Does it need to be semi-fancy stuff like an AMD 4800+ and a WD raptor 10k rpm and some ocz super low latency ddr500 stuff? or what? what would give me good performance? i didn't think servers needed to have top of the line equipment in them, but i saw some servers that had some really nice components and i was like "why does it need all that?" so yea lol im confused.
for the things that I just listed, what kind of parts do you think I need? I already have some cheapo motherboard, if we were planning on building it. personally, i want to build it but my dad wants to get a used one off ebay.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 12:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

The greater the traffic+the greater the connection=the faster computer you need.

So, if you have a T1 connection and thousands of requests a day, then you'd need an Opty/Xeon. But for what you need, an X2, 1.5 GB of RAM and ONE Raptor should be more than enough.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 12:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

oh? thats more than i thought i needed. i was just looking at stuff and this is what i came up with
X2 3800+
Corsair 512MB stick
250GB Seagate HD
some random 350w PSU

it all totaled up to about 315$ you're saying this isnt enough bang for something that just sends files to people?
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 01:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

I'd go to 1GB just for good measure. I just threw in the Raptor because I have an obsession with fast harddrives Everything else would be fine.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 01:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

haha okay thanks alot =)
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 03:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

Acutally, I have one more question. I have a hosting company right now, but I want to get away from them since I think I can do most of the stuff I do there myself on my own server. (lets not turn this into a self-hosting vs. 3rd party hosting thread. i saw waaayyy too many of those already while i was googling about this).
Suppose I do get my own ded. server and I get everything all set up with Linux and SQL and PHP and all the goodies... I'd still be stuck with the old 67.170.117.94 IP address.. How can I bind my new domain name to the server? Don't you need two IP addresses from the server? I don't have static IP addresses... all I have is this one IP address shared among my computers. I would just open port 80 to the server. But... I'm just really confused.. what is a name server for anyway?
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 10:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

bump on the domain question
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 08:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

if you arnt running many sripts and running daabase, then P-3 1Ghz will b more than enough.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 08:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

this IP address isnt like shared, your PC's are using NAT.

anyway, you dont need 2 IP addreses, only open port 80 on your server, and rest for hosting more sites, you have to give seperate Alias. there are sites that update your DNS records even if you are on Dynamic IP
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.