Which of these 2 laptops should i get?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2007, 12:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to xfatalherox
Default Which of these 2 laptops should i get?!

Ok so I've narrowed it down to these 2 laptops:

Acer Aspire 5610-2013 - 600$
Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2060 1.6GHz (1MB L2 Cache), 1GB RAM, 120GB IDE Hard Drive, 15.4-inch WXGA TFT Display, 8X DVD+/-RW Drive, Intel Integrated Graphics, Windows Vista Home Premium

Acer Aspire 5100-3357 - 650$
AMD Turion 64 MK-36 2.0Ghz (512KB L2 Cache), 1GB RAM, 120GB SATA Hard Drive, 15.4-inch WXGA TFT Display, 8X DVD+/-RW Drive, ATI Radeon Xpress 1100 Chipset, Windows Vista Home Premium


So other than the processor theyre both the same except I'm leaning towards the second one because it has ATI graphics and SATA. However, the processor is what concerns me. The T2060 is dual core has a 1MB L2 Cache while the Turion MK-36 is single core and has only 512KB. So I'm guessing the Intel is faster right? If so, is there that much of a difference between them in terms of processing power? Which of these two laptops would you guys recommend? thanks alot.
__________________

xfatalherox is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 08:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Go with the second one. AMD cpus don't need a lot of cache since they have an onboard memory controller instead of a seperate one like Intel. (Intel needs a larger cache for more speed but AMD's design is still faster - memory bandwidth)
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 08:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

my personal choice here would be the first one. Core Duo>Turion 64 in my books.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 224
Default

it really depends on what your going to be doing....if its just basic internet surfing ect....their both decent..

but if you want to run multiple demanding programs at the same time...go for the first one
GSM CEO is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 12:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

1st one= CORE 2 DUO......twice the L2 cache.

turions are crap, even though im all for AMD, never like the turions, its pretty much a sempron for notebooks.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 12:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default

It depends what you want really i mena if your going to be using graphically intensive applications the 2nd option is much better and will be much more useful when navigating Vista as it needs the graphics. The processor is weaker though but to be honest not by alot, from what i've heard the conroes in laptops aren't meant to be all that great.
sunlollyking is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 02:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hmammen
1st one= CORE 2 DUO......twice the L2 cache.

turions are crap, even though im all for AMD, never like the turions, its pretty much a sempron for notebooks.
This is NOT a C2D!!! Go with the second one. Better HD interface and the difference between the turion and T2060 is negligible and both will be fine for multitasking. The L2 cache does not have to be as high for AMD processors because of their architecture. Google this, there are plenty of articles on it
__________________
Intel C2D E6300 @3.00 Ghz
Asus P5B-E
Antec Nine Hundred
HiPer 580 PSU
evga 8800 GTS 320 MB
G. Skill 2 GB DDR2 860
Seagate 250 GB sata 2 HD
Chimei 22\" Widescreen LCD
leje0306 is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 07:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

leje0306 is right, it's a Core Duo not a C2D. however it is a Duo and my opinion is that i'd rather have two decent cores than one slightly more powerful one.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 10:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I thought it was a Turion X2, go with the first one instead.
turtile is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 08:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Default

Intel one would be a better choice.
__________________

traderonline is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.