Is Thermal Paste needed with AMD X3 720? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2009, 09:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Default Is Thermal Paste needed with AMD X3 720?

Sorry, truly a newbie question, but trying to get bases covered before I build my first PC.
__________________

Billymac24 is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 09:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Is Thermal Paste needed with AMD X3 720?

The stock HSF comes with thermal paste already plastered on it. If you were buying an aftermarket HSF, you'd need thermal paste if it didn't come with it.

For the record, every cpu needs thermal paste.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 09:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is Thermal Paste needed with AMD X3 720?

I was hoping I would catch you on line Hikari, as you seem to be one of the more active experts. What do you think of this build? I am not a big gamer, but will be doing some light video editing and multi-tasking. I have the monitor and keyboard/mouse, and am looking to spend something shy of $900.

I am watching the prices of Memory and GPU's, thinking I might upgrade the GPU if the price is right.

CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ATX12V
Western Digital Caviar Black 640
Samsung 22X SpeedPlus
Cooler Master Centurion 690
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit
G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
HIS Radeon HD 4670 IceQ Turbo HDMI Dual DL-DVI HDCP 512MB 128bit GDDR3
BIOSTAR TFORCE TA790GX 128M AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX
AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W

Thanks for your time
Billymac24 is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 10:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Is Thermal Paste needed with AMD X3 720?

Looks like a good solid build. You'll be getting the same CPU/mobo/RAM I have, lol. :P

There's a combo deal that saves you 10 bucks with that mobo/RAM: Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

Also, there's a combo deal with the 720 and a 1tb WD Black series, which ends up being 8 bucks more than the 640gb drive you picked out, well worth the extra...besides, you'll basically be saving 2 bucks and getting a 1tb HDD with both these combos: Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

But really, great choice on the parts.

EDIT: You don't really need to upgrade the GPU if you aren't going to game. The onboard is actually more than sufficient, I even do light gaming on that. But if you can pick up a dedicated card, that's always good too, and you can game later if you want to. The 4670 will be fine.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 10:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is Thermal Paste needed with AMD X3 720?

Thanks man! I was hoping you would say that. I am in no hurry (1-2 months), so now just waiting and watching prices.
Billymac24 is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 10:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Is Thermal Paste needed with AMD X3 720?

Well, I checked the prices with the combos/free shipping on the case, it comes to just shy of 750 bucks, minus 30 bucks in MIRs. Not a bad deal at all for that machine. If you take out the 4670 (you can always upgrade later, and the onboard is pretty adequate for the time being), it would be just shy of $670, minus 20 bucks in MIRs. Dunno what kind of deals they will have later, but that's a machine worth pouncing on.

If you have any other questions, feel free to ask.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI 9200SE vs. Linux... 95BlackGA Linux and Open Source 8 10-19-2008 01:05 AM
Help with applything Thermal paste csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-25-2008 01:48 PM
Thermal Paste Already Applied? Method New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-07-2008 12:11 PM
Mobo and Thermal Paste Query Method Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 08-01-2008 04:25 PM
8800gt and thermal paste.. andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 22 03-30-2008 01:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.