Thermal paste on laptop cpu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2005, 12:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Thermal paste on laptop cpu?

My laptop is an Inspiron 8100. I upgraded the cpu from 866 mhz to 1.2 ghz, which gave me a decent speed increase. Since that I've been a little worried about heat issues. Can I apply thermal paste to my laptop's cpu (P3-M)? If so, could you recommend a good one, and explain how I should do it (never applied before).

Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 04:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 117

A good thermal paste is Artic Silver 5.

Website for installation:

I never had a laptop before, nor did I screw around with any, so I wouldn't really know for sure if you're suppose to use thermal paste on mobile processors, but I'm guessing you're suppose to being that the compound transfer heat better if you use it.

AMD Athlon64 3000+ (venice core)
DFI LanParty UT nF4-D
1GB Cosair RAM
eVGA Geforce 6600GT
SB Audigy 2 ZS
80GB Seagate Barracuda
Windows XP Pro
mRk is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 05:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581

Thanks for the reply. I'll ask at Dell Community forums about whether this is doable. I've heard a lot of good things about Arctic Silver, I'll probably pick up some for my desktop either way. Thanks again.
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 06:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

no no no go with OCZ ultra 5+ the same exact thing as AS5, its really the same exact thing, but just has OCZ on the front name, AND ITS CHEAPER!
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 07:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19

ive always used AS5 and it was good. i personally have never dealt with OCZ or laptop CPUs other than this one time but all that i was doing was getting the thing unscrewed and opened. laptops are tricky machines sometimes. i would have to assume though that there is some kind of compound on there when they build it. best bet would be to ask on the Dell forums.
neosnightmare is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.