Are there any dual channel socket 754 motherboards? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2006, 03:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Are there any dual channel socket 754 motherboards?

I'm getting a used skt754 cpu for pretty cheap and was told that some motherboards do support dual channel. I've only been able to find one though so wonder if its just a typo or something.

Here it is Epox 8NPA

On another website it only said it was single channel. So do they make dual channel skt754 or is the memory controller on the cpu preventing that?

Plus what would be a good skt 754 mobo with pci-e?
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 04:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

no. Socket 754 platform only has single channel memory capabilities. The memory controller is in the CPU. It has *almost* nothing to do with the motherboard.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Really? Why do some socket A mobos support dual channel ram but socket 754 mobos don't?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 07:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Amd wanted people to buy 940 over 754 and 939 wasn't out yet.

Anyways any suggestions on boards?
dario03 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 07:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dario03
Amd wanted people to buy 940 over 754 and 939 wasn't out yet.

Anyways any suggestions on boards?
Really? That sounds weird why would AMD want people to buy server boards instead of regular pc boards? There aren't much server boards anyways.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 08:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

that is not true. its just a flaw with the memory controller. why in helI would AMD want the general public to buy server boards that would not function as the public would need them to, they would be cutting their own throats.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 08:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
that is not true. its just a flaw with the memory controller. why in helI would AMD want the general public to buy server boards that would not function as the public would need them to, they would be cutting their own throats.
exactly what I'm saying. Sounds like someone was just bsing. Cough..dario...Cough.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 09:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

The motherboard's chipset determines whether or not memory can be utilized in dual channel.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 09:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Brtnboarder495
The motherboard's chipset determines whether or not memory can be utilized in dual channel.
not necessarily. For the socket 754 cpu's. They dont support dual channel. Even if the chipset says it does i don't think it will. How can it? The memory controller tell what kind of memory to use and it doesn't support dual channel. The chipset is made according to the cpu. So if the chipset is made for socket 754 cpu's then they will put the same kind of ram as the cpu is capable of.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 09:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Brtnboarder495
The motherboard's chipset determines whether or not memory can be utilized in dual channel.
That's not true for Athlon 64 based system. Athlon 64 cpu's contain the memory controller.
__________________

curtcheese64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.