Temp. monitoring... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2008, 01:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 69
Default Temp. monitoring...

Hi, i don't know if this is the right place to post my question, if it is not, please feel free to move me.
OK, I'm trying to check the temps. on my mobo: gigabyte p35-ds3l. CPU: Q6600 intel, and case fans; Xion II. Is there a program to download or is it already in the bios? if it is, how do i get it?
Thanks.
__________________

galic is offline  
Old 06-06-2008, 02:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Temp. monitoring...

download core temp.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 06-06-2008, 02:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Temp. monitoring...

you could go with Core Temp or Everest im a fan of Everest but thats just my opinion. heres a link to download Everest

|MG| EVEREST Free Edition 2.20

Core Temp here:

Core Temp

Cheers.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 06-06-2008, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 106
Default Re: Temp. monitoring...

I just downloaded Everest because I never heard of it before. Not to hijack the conversation, but when installing it and checking the "Overclock" menu on the left and reading the value for CPU speed, it says

CPU Properties
Core Voltage ......................... 0.956 V

CPU Speed
CPU Clock ............................. 599.47 MHz (original: 1600 MHz)
CPU Multiplier ....................... 6.0x
CPU FSB ............................... 99.91 MHz (original: 100 MHz)
Memory Bus .......................... 133.22 MHz

For a quick blip one time when I was staring at it, it jumped to 1594 point something MHz for the CPU Clock, but it's pretty stationary around 599.46-599.48 MHz. Also, the multiplier goes to 16.0x and the Core voltage goes to 1.484V.

What's going on here, and is this the potential reason why my computer is slowing down?
rkagin is offline  
Old 06-06-2008, 04:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Temp. monitoring...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkagin View Post
I just downloaded Everest because I never heard of it before. Not to hijack the conversation, but when installing it and checking the "Overclock" menu on the left and reading the value for CPU speed, it says

CPU Properties
Core Voltage ......................... 0.956 V

CPU Speed
CPU Clock ............................. 599.47 MHz (original: 1600 MHz)
CPU Multiplier ....................... 6.0x
CPU FSB ............................... 99.91 MHz (original: 100 MHz)
Memory Bus .......................... 133.22 MHz

For a quick blip one time when I was staring at it, it jumped to 1594 point something MHz for the CPU Clock, but it's pretty stationary around 599.46-599.48 MHz. Also, the multiplier goes to 16.0x and the Core voltage goes to 1.484V.

What's going on here, and is this the potential reason why my computer is slowing down?
No need to worry its just a power saving mode when your CPU isnt under full stress it clocks itself down to a lower speed so it can save power. When you put stress on it like opening a game or running an intense program then it'll kick back up to the original speed/multi/volts

You can turn this feature off in the bios. Create your own thread or search for a thread with info on it if you have more questions regarding changing that setting.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 09:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 69
Default Re: Temp. monitoring...

Thank you guys, i'll test both and see wich one i like best.
galic is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 10:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Temp. monitoring...

Quote:
Originally Posted by galic View Post
Thank you guys, i'll test both and see wich one i like best.
Your Welcome let us know how things are going with it and if you run into any problems or questions.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitoring your cpu temp... your method? gl600 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 02-17-2008 02:48 PM
Temp monitoring Da Viksta Overclocking and Modding 2 12-05-2007 08:16 AM
Temp monitoring Schecters Overclocking and Modding 4 09-27-2007 04:20 PM
cpu temp monitoring software for snypercore Overclocking and Modding 11 05-20-2007 10:15 PM
Good CPU temp monitoring program? Shafra Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-26-2007 01:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.