Taking apart a computer :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2010, 01:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Troll Patrol
 
JoshuaJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Over the Rainbow
Posts: 295
Default Taking apart a computer :)

I've just received the parts for my new PC, so I need to take the old ones out first!

I'm only replacing the Mobo, CPU, GPU, RAM and HD. So I would imagine I can leave the PSU and Optical drives where they are.

I watched a few youtube videos on how to build/break down a PC but some real input on the order in which to take the parts out would help.

I attached a photo of the build as it is now.

I assume all I will need is a screwdriver, and maybe a can of air?

And excuse the dog laying in the background
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PCstart.jpg (63.8 KB, 41 views)
__________________

JoshuaJay is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 01:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Taking apart a computer :)

Yup.

The video card comes out first,as its usually attached to the case.

You might have to pull the hard drive as i can't tell the clearence.

Just go slow, use gentle, but firm pressure to ensure the parts are seated.

Also ensure the brass standoffs are aligned in the correct spots for the new mobo. They are the brass thingys behind the mobo, which the mobo screws into.

g/l but its pretty easy.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 01:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Troll Patrol
 
JoshuaJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Over the Rainbow
Posts: 295
Default Re: Taking apart a computer :)

Uh oh, what if the screw holes don't fit the new motherboard? I listed the case in my compatibility check so I assumed it would fit...

I haven't taken it out yet so I wont know until then.

Edit: I know they are both Asus... this is the new mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...tent-_-text-_-
JoshuaJay is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 01:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Taking apart a computer :)

If they are both ATX motherboards then they will both fit
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 01:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Troll Patrol
 
JoshuaJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Over the Rainbow
Posts: 295
Default Re: Taking apart a computer :)

Let me grab the other motherboard box, I actually still have it... I'll edit in a sec.

It's NOT Asus. It's: Intel Desktop Board D925XCV Extreme Performance for High End Gamers and Power Users.

It says on the box: ATX, PCI Express x16 graphics, RAID, 800MHz FSB

The new one I linked above.

Are they both going to fit?
JoshuaJay is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 02:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default Re: Taking apart a computer :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
If they are both ATX motherboards then they will both fit
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshuaJay
It says on the box: ATX, PCI Express x16 graphics, RAID, 800MHz FSB
Yes, it will fit. MicroATX should fit too, albeit with possibly different screw locations.
__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 02:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Troll Patrol
 
JoshuaJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Over the Rainbow
Posts: 295
Default Re: Taking apart a computer :)

But even if the screw locations are different will I still be able to screw the new one in?
JoshuaJay is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 03:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Taking apart a computer :)

Yes, you'll just have to move the standoffs. They just unscrew and rescrew into a new location.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 03:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Troll Patrol
 
JoshuaJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Over the Rainbow
Posts: 295
Default Re: Taking apart a computer :)

Cool, thanks for the help guys. I'll probably do the full build tomorrow, I'm still waiting on the OS as I ordered it a day late.

Quick question, I noticed in my tutorials that people are applying thermal compound on their CPU before putting on the heatsink.. I didn't buy any thermal stuff because I didn't know I needed it, does any come with the CPU or do I have to by some... Or is it even neccesary?
JoshuaJay is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 03:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Taking apart a computer :)

What cpu/cooler did you get... link would be best.

Most, 95%, come with a pre applied compound, so you'll be fine. If its an oem fan/heatsink it won't be the top quality TIM, but decent enough to run a stock setup.

Oh its highly nessesary... It makes the thermal connection between the cpu and the heatsink. Without it, the cpu will over heat.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Works at my Apt, not at my Parents or Brother's acco331 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-03-2010 01:44 PM
30+ Windows 7 Features Phone Home to Microsoft KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-12-2009 10:36 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Computer Jokes. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 8 12-19-2007 12:09 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.