sytem upgrade,can i do it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2014, 07:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: new zealand
Posts: 2
Default sytem upgrade,can i do it?

hi there guys, this is a speccy cut and paste of my system, im wondering
if its possible there is a quad core chip that may work on my board?

Operating System
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.00GHz 38 C
Wolfdale 45nm Technology
RAM
4.00GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 399MHz (5-5-5-18)
Motherboard
ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5K SE/EPU (LGA775) 38 C
Graphics
HP LE1901w (1440x900@60Hz)
2047MB GeForce GTX 660 (Gigabyte) 35 C
Hard Drives
298GB Western Digital WDC WD3200AAKS-61L9A0 ATA Device (SATA) 37 C
596GB Western Digital WDC WD6400AAKS-00A7B0 ATA Device (SATA) 41 C
298GB Seagate ST3320620AS ATA Device (SATA) 38 C
Optical Drives
DTSOFT Virtual CdRom Device
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH20NS15 ATA Device
Audio
High Definition Audio Device
__________________

fundanglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: new zealand
Posts: 2
Default Re: sytem upgrade,can i do it?

ive done some googling and im wondering if the Q6600 chip would fit straight in?
__________________

fundanglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 11:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: sytem upgrade,can i do it?

Asus says C2Q and 45nm support so you can put a better Q9550 in it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How doesthis sytem look? mcslave Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 11-29-2004 03:14 AM
how can i detect hackers on my sytem lewgates Viruses, Spyware and Malware 5 10-29-2004 09:39 PM
Disabling config.sys and sytem.ini MickD Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-30-2003 05:44 PM
Win XP, sytem does not boot girardibanez Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-14-2003 07:24 AM
Win XP, sytem does not boot girardibanez Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-14-2003 07:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.