Is this system upgradable, or a new PC better? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2012, 10:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Is this system upgradable, or a new PC better?

Hello everyone how r u doing?
Ok, here are my system specs :
E8400 Dual core CPU @ 2.4 GHz ( should be 3.00 GHz, forcely underclocked due to motherboard limitations )
GA-945PL-S3P motherboard
2x2GB DDR2 Ram @ 667 MHz ( should be 800 MHz, again forced to underclock due to the motherboard )
ATI Radeon x1550 series
So, I want a new motherboard to go with my system. I also want a new power supply, a good CPU cooler and a good GPU.
So, will such upgrades be beneficial? Or the performance will still be bottlenecked due to CPU and/or RAM?
Thanks and any help is appreciated.
__________________

Skorpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 10:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Is this system upgradable, or a new PC better?

Why are you upgradinng? Do some games not work well? Why the motherboard upgrade? Unless you are missing a feature you want, there is really no need. What is your Current PSU? What is your budget?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 01:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: Is this system upgradable, or a new PC better?

The motherboard upgrade is because my CPU and RAM have more FSB than supported by motherboard, so they run underclocked.
I've got some upgrades in mind which will I think fit into my budget.
I need a good CPU cooler as mine doesn't cool my CPU any good, my CPU reaches like 60C on idle.
The games don't work well, like the games I wanna play such as BF3, COD MW3, crysis etc. In fact, even lower games barely run on low settings, thanks to the GPU.
So, I'd like to know if the following system ( i.e the system I wish to upgrade to ) will be good enough for the modern games and run them on high/ultra settings :
E8400@ 3.00 GHz ( hopefully overclocked to 3.60 GHz too if possible )
A good motherboard here that has LGA 775 socket and DDR2
2x2GB DDR2 @ 800 MHz
A nice PSU which supports the system ( the best brand I could find )
Will the above system be good enough for gaming?
Skorpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 01:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Is this system upgradable, or a new PC better?

What is your budget?

You won't play the latest games on high/ultra.

The most important factor, in gaming, is your graphic card, RAM, and then you CPU.

For a new motherboard, I'd choose this: Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-G41MT-S2PT LGA 775 Intel G41 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

But, 775 is being phased out, so if you can afford it, get a new 1155 system.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Is this system upgradable, or a new PC better?

Your biggest issue is your GPU. Depending on budget if you added a 560ti you would see a huge performance increase in games, but then your CPU would still slightly bottleneck you.

The problem with what you want is the only new boards you can buy now are DD3 and are pretty crap in terms of features. You will probably have to get a good P45 DDR3 board and upgrade your RAM to use the FSB you want.

The thing to remember, is the FSB rated on the chip means total bandwidth. Q6600 says 1066 and it can officially support 1066 DDR2, as the 45nm Wolfdale and Yorkfield (quad) chips can support DDR3. Your board FSB wont reflect this though. It should be somewhere around 200 or so for DDR2. 200 FSB would equate to 800mhz DDR2 depending on the DDR2 multiplier.

As for the CPU speed itself, if you are idling at 60c then you got some serious problems and probably need to reseat your heatsink, clean it, and apply new thermal paste. Your CPU is probably throttling meaning you aren't getting the full speed even with your board because it is getting too hot.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 02:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: Is this system upgradable, or a new PC better?

Thanks for all the replies.
So, if I get the Radeon HD 7770 with the E8400, will it still be a huge difference apart from HD 7770 with an i5? Like a difference of 10 or 20 FPS for example?
Skorpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 03:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Is this system upgradable, or a new PC better?

It really all depends on the game in question. 7770 would be a huge upgrade compared to what you currently have, but in terms of modern graphics cards it isn't very good. I think if you are doing all this upgrading it would be better just to simply update it all. Even an i3 would be great.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 03:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: Is this system upgradable, or a new PC better?

Are you sure? Mine is an ATI Radeon series x1550, that's one of the worst graphics cards nowadays, while 7770 runs BattleField 3 on ultra on 50 FPS.
I'd like you to keep in mind that I'll be using a montior which has a max resolution of 1280x1024, so I wouldn't need a powerhouse GPU, as I think the 7770 will run almost everything on max graphics with such a resolution.
Skorpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 04:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Is this system upgradable, or a new PC better?

Big thing though, is you are upgrading to a crappy standard.

Yes you are right about the 7770, but upgrade your monitor, and youre back to having issues. You need to upgrade beyond your current level, for future upgrades.

So you should upgrade to a card that'll run on higher resolution, like a 560, and now you have a system that will still be great, despite other upgrades.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 04:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Is this system upgradable, or a new PC better?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skorpian View Post
Are you sure? Mine is an ATI Radeon series x1550, that's one of the worst graphics cards nowadays, while 7770 runs BattleField 3 on ultra on 50 FPS.
I'd like you to keep in mind that I'll be using a montior which has a max resolution of 1280x1024, so I wouldn't need a powerhouse GPU, as I think the 7770 will run almost everything on max graphics with such a resolution.
A 7770 wont run BF3 maxed at 50fps, unless of course at your particular resolution. But then I have to say, at that resolution your performance is more CPU bound anyways.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my tower and PSU upgradable? Dragon Queen System Upgrades 6 02-16-2011 04:50 PM
Upgradable Gaming Build xXx-Tricky-xXx New Systems | Building and Buying 10 02-08-2010 09:29 PM
Is this desktop upgradable? monster12348 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 08-17-2009 09:37 PM
Upgradable laptop hitm4n666 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-16-2007 03:52 AM
Upgradable JAYDALOSS Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 05-28-2005 01:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.