System plans - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2006, 02:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Default System plans

Well, im about to buy my rig this weekend, I was wonder if this was gonna work -


AMD Athlon 64 3200+
1GB(512MBx2) PC3200
Asus A8N-VM
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM SATA-II 8MB
GeForce 7900GT 256MB PCI-E
Antec 350 Watt ATX power supply


After 2 weeks im dropping another GB of ram, and a 64bit 4000+ in it. Will the computer RUN a 7900GT tho ? And is the 256mb version a good call (its half the price of a 512 basically)
__________________

Bigboomer is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 03:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Antec 350 Watt ATX power supply
No matter how good Antec PSU's are that system will not even give the card alone enough juice. Wait 2 weeks and get a AMD X2 4400 and a ~500w PSU with atleast 26amps on a single 12v rail or 30 on dual.

There is no point in being tempted into more memory on a GPU. It will not benefit it enough for spending all that extra money. (checks specs and benchtests) The 512 one is alot more powerful on core and memory speeds.

Look at the 2048 x 1536 as at this res it really shows the differences.

http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=2717&p=7
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 03:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Default

^agreed
Also, I recomend changing the western digital HD for a sygate. They are about the same price, and from personal experience, sygate is more reliable.
01100100 is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 03:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I can't say about reliabilty, as I haven't had both to take the test of time, but I have used both in builds and the W.D. build quality isn't upto a great standard, but it was very quiet.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 05:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Well it looks like the 550watt is only $40 more expensive, so thats definately an option right of the bat (at purchase time). So thats definately advice i need to take.

And unfortunately the 512MB 7900 is $250 more than a 256MB, I can't justify that atm for a video card. Im not looking to run games in 2048 x 1536 yet (will need a new monitor at the same time), as the 256MB (7800GTX / 7900GT) runs the games im looking forward to in 1280 / 1600 with 60+ fps.

Im actually just looking to be able to play battlefield 2, HL: Source (and related), FEAR, Elder scrolls and a few more games.
Bigboomer is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 04:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It will be fine for that. Do take into consideration an X2 though, as they are good CPU's.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 12:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Yeah, x2's are great. From what ive heard, that truepower 550 watt psu is very good
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.