Is this system good enough... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2006, 01:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Default Is this system good enough...

for CS:Source and Battlefield 2 with all high settings. Also, is this a good price for this system.

AMD 64bit 3200
MSI K8MM-V S754
512mb PC3200
80GB Hard drive
450-Watt Case
52xCD-RW/DVD combo drive
6.1 Sound

$329 before tax.

If I do buy this system, I will be adding an evga 7600GS graphic card to it. Will i get good fps with this system (all high settings)? Or should i dish out a litte more cash for upgrades.

I also bought a 8ms 19in flat panel. Will 8ms be fast enough for these games?
__________________

SDKiD is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i don't know how BF2 performs on max settings with a 7600gs but you should be able to get some decent gameplay out of that system.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 02:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

thats cheap, i wish i was in US...

but yeh you should be able to play CSS on full and im pretty sure BF2 on fiul should work.. i have a friend with a similar system and its great..
Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 06:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to bigr5026
Default

Hi


i would go socket 939 if you could


but otherwise, thats alright for that system


I say if you go s754, get a newark, or get a semperon




But you hsould be able to play those games, jsut not at full settings
bigr5026 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 08:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 81
Default

Erm, dudes. I was going to buy a 754 with sempron...And it was LESS to go the 939 with 3000+...although, i suppose i have cheap old asian MSY...
SDtbawab6634n63 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 64
Default

That will be a decent system, but you really should consider upgrading to at least 1 gigs of RAM.

That's my two cents..
__________________
Julien aka julz

<a href=\"http://www.build-gaming-computers.com\">How to Build Gaming Computers</a>
julz is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 11:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigbaddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 156
Send a message via Yahoo to bigbaddog
Default Re: Is this system good enough...

Quote:
Originally posted by SDKiD

I also bought a 8ms 19in flat panel. Will 8ms be fast enough for these games?
Yes-anything 8ms and less is OK.
bigbaddog is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 05:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigr5026
Hi
i would go socket 939 if you could
but otherwise, thats alright for that system
I say if you go s754, get a newark, or get a semperon
But you hsould be able to play those games, jsut not at full settings
Well the next system up from that store is socket 939 but it cost $160 more. Here is the spec for it:

AMD 64 BIT ATHLON 3200+ S939 2000FSB
MSI RD480 S939 AMD
1GB DDR2 400 MHZ
2X 40GB Hard Drive
PCI EXPRESS ATI RADEON X1300 512MB (Don't really need this but I can resell it.)
Everything else is the same as the first system.

$500 before tax

Is this system worth the extra $160?
SDKiD is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 05:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

yeah you need more ram, i hear BF2 is one of those ram hogs. and i doubt you'll be able to run it on max with 1GB and a x1300. MAYBE smoothly on medium.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 06:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Buy the cheapest system, upgrade to 2GB's for 160 dollars and the 7600GS and you will be able to play BF2 on med-high settings maybe high depending on the resolution and maybe or not AA/AF
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.