Switching Up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2015, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Question Switching Up

OK, so here's my story.

Last year I got my hands on my dad's old HP Compaq 6005 Pro Small Form Factor PC, which I put a terabyte hard drive in and installed Windows 10 Pro (which I got for free upon release).

Now, I have just recently bought a ASUS ESSENTIO from a friend which has 500gb hard drive and WINDOWS 10 Home installed.
What I want to do is have the ASUS as my main PC (which has a better processor, graphics card, and overall better hardware). But my problem is that I like Windows 10 Pro more than I do Windows 10 Home.

So my question is: Is there a way to switch/upgrade/download Windows 10 Pro onto the ASUS without spending $100 to purchase it?
Also I would like to put the terabyte hard drive in the ASUS too, but I hear I'd have to reinstall the operating system anyways to use it. Is this true?
__________________

Zathazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 01:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Switching Up

If the copies you have aarre retail keys, then yes you can swap them. If they're OEM though, you legally can't swap them as the OEM license indicates the license is tied to the hardware.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 06:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Switching Up

What specifically do you want in Pro? Besides some power user and enterprise level stuff there isn't much of a difference.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
asus, hard drive, operating system, windows 10

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching mobos, switching cases IF06 System Upgrades 2 09-14-2006 08:55 AM
switching to classic view in xp mitschej Microsoft Windows and Software 10 01-14-2004 04:58 AM
Switching hard drive into new computer hemog Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 12-30-2003 11:24 AM
HELP: Switching Motherboard and Processor illippinno Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-08-2003 07:48 AM
Switching to intel neb1211 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 14 04-08-2003 04:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.