swap hard drive to new pc - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2009, 07:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: swap hard drive to new pc

I believe Mak has said that Vista is pickier about CPU/Mobo replacements. XP you could usually get by if you just replaced the CPU, but not the case with Vista. You'll either have to do a SYSPREP or reinstall fresh.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 10:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: swap hard drive to new pc

yes, same mobo, just an upgraded processor. the old was amd 3800+, new one is amd 7550.

wonder what the worst case scenario would be to try it?
__________________

chesire17201 is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 10:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: swap hard drive to new pc

Worst case you get BSOD.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 08-08-2009, 10:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: swap hard drive to new pc

BSOD ?
chesire17201 is offline  
Old 08-08-2009, 10:45 AM   #15 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: swap hard drive to new pc

Blue Screen Of Death.

That bright blue screen when you crash.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-08-2009, 10:48 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: swap hard drive to new pc

ahhh, really? I wouldn't have thought that with essentially what is just a processor swap. maybe I am just being retarded, but If anyone wants to point the way to what i need to do it would be greatly appreciated.
chesire17201 is offline  
Old 08-08-2009, 12:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: swap hard drive to new pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by chesire17201 View Post
ahhh, really? I wouldn't have thought that with essentially what is just a processor swap. maybe I am just being retarded, but If anyone wants to point the way to what i need to do it would be greatly appreciated.
You'll most likely have to reinstall if you can't get the system to boot in the previous install. You can use a Linux LiveCD to transfer data from the old drive to the new blank drive if you want, and then just reinstall Vista on the other drive with the new hardware.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Hard drive noise Asterix Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-10-2008 04:03 PM
Problem with Hard Drive lettering in DUAL BOOTING PC Rastafari Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-03-2008 04:38 PM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM
Hard drive occasionally clicking Mr. tech Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 04-30-2007 08:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.