surround sound audio - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2006, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to axiomflash
Default surround sound audio

I play all my music through my computer > through a receiver > through speakers. I would like to have the music come out all of my surround sound speakers, and my sound card supports 5.1 surround sound, but when I listen to music I still only get 2 channels. I think the problem would be caused by one of the following, but I thought it would be much easier to ask for some help than torture myself figuring this out.

- Audio software only puts out two channels.
- Sound card isn't sending out all channels.
- Audio card can only support 2 channels.
- Stereo input can only input 2 channels.

I don't really have a clue how the surround sound card work through al this. Any help please??? thanks!

keith
__________________

axiomflash is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 11:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Did you install the software, and configure it?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 12:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to axiomflash
Default

yes i did.
the software im usually using is rhapsody or winamp, for which i can find no way to control 5.1 settings, only mono or stereo.
axiomflash is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 12:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Your sound card should come with drivers which let you control the sound.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 12:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to axiomflash
Default

yes, it does. and those are installed. they can let me select what kind of speakers i have connected, but that doesn't really do or tell me anything about what channels are actually there
axiomflash is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 01:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 115
Default

Does your stereo reciever support 5.1 audio? I used to have an old stereo hooked up to my computer which had only Dolby Pro Logic and a "5.1" speaker setup but did not support an actual 5.1 output. The rear speakers acted as one and just produced really muffled echo-ey sounds.
flyboychuckles is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 01:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to axiomflash
Default

the stereo definitely supports 5.1 audio, as this is what i use for watching movies. BUT i don't know if the stereo input supports 5.1 or only stereo. im not really sure how to find this out as i cant find any do***entation for my old receiver.

i am running a standard (green) headphone cable from my PC output into my stereo.
axiomflash is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 06:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 115
Default

I think you would need multiple cables for 5.1 surround. My computer has three sound cables front/rear/center & subs from the sound card to the speakers. But this if for 5.1 computer speakers. Regular a/v cables would need a red/white right/left channel cable setup to get stereo.
flyboychuckles is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 06:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to axiomflash
Default

flyboy.

do you know if the A/V (red/white) cables can carry front and rear. i assume they must, since surround sound DVD audio is carried to the receiver through only 2 cables.

i guess that kind of answers my question about 5.1 going through a headphone cord. it should be possible.

too much to stew on here...
axiomflash is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 11:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 115
Default

It should, I'm no home audio expert, but I just know that a single cable from my stereo to my computer wasn't 5.1. Now I have A/V from my DVD player to my old stereo which still doesn't work to well (stereo's fault). For $5 you can get some A/V cables and try or see if you r sound card has a digital output and your reciever has digital input.
__________________

flyboychuckles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.