Supported cpus for mobos question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2008, 01:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default Supported cpus for mobos question

Hi

I have a simple question and I ask it becuase I wouldent want to make a simple mistake and throw away money. Regaurding cpu support for motherboards, when a motherboard says to support cpus named for example...

Phenom FX / Phenom / Athlon 64 FX / Athlon 64 X2

with the cpus with the second name, for example the AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ Brisbane.

I noticed that the Athlon 64 X2 is listed but does this mean Athlon 64 X2 "Brisbane" is supported?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
www.mprize.org
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 01:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: Supported cpus for mobos question

"Brisbane" is AMD's own label for the core architecture. You will see that a lot, especially in cpu's to help differentiate the series. you can have, for instance, several 6000+ AMD's, but, the contrast lies in the specific cores. One can be Brisbane, Denmark, Etc.
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 02:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default Re: Supported cpus for mobos question

I see. So it doesent matter if the core architecture label is listed for the supported cpus for a given motherboard.
__________________
www.mprize.org
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 12:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: Supported cpus for mobos question

Yes. All you need to worry about is the socket type and series, i.e phenom, dual core, x2 etc.
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Tray- supported by ATI?? StimulateSituate Overclocking and Modding 1 10-12-2008 10:43 PM
Help Please! [F] ohigirl67 HijackThis Logs (finished) 18 07-26-2008 01:54 PM
Intel delay launch of 3 CPU's because AMD poses no threat Oreo Off Topic Discussion 8 12-20-2007 04:57 PM
Overclocking Question BlueHeaven New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-28-2007 06:54 AM
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 01:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.