Strange Problem.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2010, 01:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Strange Problem..

Sometimes my computer when I'm online playing will suddenly blue screen and restart. The blue screen has some kind of a message on it, but it only lasts for a split second; no way to read what it says. It just blues screens and restarts. It doesn't give an error message after the fact, either. Very friggin' frustrating! Any ideas?

TG
__________________

croSSeduP is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 02:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Strange Problem..

Go into your bios and disable "Automatic Restart On System Failure" or something of the sort.

or

In Win7
Right click My Computer go to properties. Click Advanced system settings. Go to settings under Startup and Recovery. Under System failure uncheck the Automatically restart box.


Than get that code next time it happens.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 03:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Strange Problem..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abstract Hero View Post
Go into your bios and disable "Automatic Restart On System Failure" or something of the sort.

or

In Win7
Right click My Computer go to properties. Click Advanced system settings. Go to settings under Startup and Recovery. Under System failure uncheck the Automatically restart box.


Than get that code next time it happens.
So you're saying that when the computer shuts down, does not restart, when I do boot it, I will get the error message? Also, this is an XP machine. Thanks for the help!

TG
croSSeduP is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 04:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Strange Problem..

If you do this, the next time you blue screen it won't go away until you shutdown manually or it completes the memory dump. For XP the same general directions apply.

I found this on tom's hardware for changing it in XP
Quote:
system>advanced>startup and recovery>settings>disable automatically restart and below in the same window select complete memory dump.
this will buy you some time to see the error message,also in event viewer under system log see for system error or save dump entry.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 03:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Strange Problem..

Okay, it finally happened, and I was able to read what the blue screen said. It said I should check to see that I have adequate disk space. More than adequate. I have two 160GB hdd. One of them is almost full, so maybe that is why it was crashing? After I rebooted into Windows a very brief message came up in the tray saying that I was running low on disc space. Moved a couple of LARGE files that were games from the nearly full disc to the nearly empty one. Maybe that solves it.

The error message also said to look and see if there was a driver identified in the "stop message". Near the bottom of the blue screen it said, "STOP: 0x0000008E (0x0000046, 0x8051963E, 0xA8406B0, 0x00000000)"

Next it said to try changing video adapters. Not sure what that means. Changing GPU's?

Then it said to check for BIOS updates. Also, not sure what that means.

Finally it said to disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing. I went into BIOS after the crash, and I didn't see anything like that.

Any ideas what to do next? Thanks!

TG
croSSeduP is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 09:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Strange Problem..

Look it up and see what the net says about that particular code.
STOP 0x0000008E Blue Screen Errors
STOP 0x0000008E - STOP 0x8E KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED - Fix STOP Error 0x0000008E
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 06:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Strange Problem..

Quote:
Originally Posted by redfish View Post
I ran Memtest86. No problems showed up. The strange thing about this prob is that it ONLY shows up when I play Quakelive...

TG
croSSeduP is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 07:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Strange Problem..

Well then. Is this game 100% compatible with your OS? I had some similar issues with an incompatible antivirus software. Note that just because the box says it is compatible doesn't necessarily mean that there aren't any issues.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 08:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Strange Problem..

Quote:
Originally Posted by redfish View Post
Well then. Is this game 100% compatible with your OS? I had some similar issues with an incompatible antivirus software. Note that just because the box says it is compatible doesn't necessarily mean that there aren't any issues.
Quakelive is a free game you play in-browser, and yes, I am 100% sure it is compatible.

QUAKE LIVE

TG
croSSeduP is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 04:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Strange Problem..

Does it run normally before it crashes? Or does it crash before you can do anything, or look funny at all when it's running?
__________________

__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange CD problem Mr Dude Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 02-03-2006 06:13 AM
Very strange HD - PC problem deniro24 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-24-2005 06:14 PM
Strange problem. TonCrafter Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 09-16-2005 04:26 PM
Strange HD problem salo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 07-07-2005 03:05 AM
Strange IP problem horris1st Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 10-31-2004 04:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.