Storage Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2013, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
IntelFanboy417's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 151
Default Storage Help

I currently have a home file server set up for my family to use. Currently everything stored on the server is stored in the one single drive. I need you opinion for a better storage solution. Should I use SSDs for long term storage? Should I use hard disk drives? What RAID should I use RAID 1 or RAID 0? Also what RAID card would be necessary? Thanks in advance. Also, please dont recommend online backup services, as I prefer to use my own private service.

My tech blog |
IntelFanboy417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 11:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
PP Mguire's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 26,049
Default Re: Storage Help

As I said in the other thread, don't use SSDs for file storage. A it's a waste of money, B you can get way more space for said money, and C you'll pretty much never use the speed so that's a waste too.

Everything really depends on the task, daily HDD load, and the system behind it. If this is a simple box setup for people to grab movies or whatever off of then I suggest just buying a 4TB drive to add to what you have no, and just add to that drive when you need more space. RAID really isn't that necessary until you can afford a bunch of drives at one time, the card, and have a need for the speed. I go to LANs all the time while only having a few drives dedicated to games, TV, movies, and apps. On the other hand my friend dropped money on a RAID card, 4 4TB drives, and did RAID 5 losing 6TB in the process while never actually utilizing that RAID setup.

"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire Mechwarrior Online = Thunderson PSN = PP_Mguire

Need Descent and Mechwarrior buddies!
If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 11:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
carnageX's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,150
Default Re: Storage Help

Would be more worth it to just buy 2 drives of the same (or 1 larger) capacity, and use the second (or larger) for backup purposes. RAID =/= backup solution.

Have a backup application that runs on their systems, or from the server even, at a certain time every so often if you want, that way all their personal files are backed up.
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 01:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
IntelFanboy417's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 151
Default Re: Storage Help

Thank you guys for the help, I do have a automatic backup program running, so I dont have to worry about that. From your suggestions I think I'm going to go with two 2tb Western Digital hard drives. My motherboard on the server has 5 sata ports already, could I configure a RAID just by using the on board Sata connections or would I have to have a separate RAID card to run the raid setup?
My tech blog |
IntelFanboy417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 01:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Lexluethar's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Storage Help

Use RAID 1 to mirror both backup drives, this way you can recover all data if you have a hard drive failure. RAD 5 would work as well, but it uses three drives and you will lose some space because of parity.

RAID card isn't necessary if your motherboard has a raid controller built in. Most do and will allow RAID 1/0 setups. Personally I would purchase a card and do it that way, most home RAID cards will only cost around $40 and will do all the 'lifting' when it comes to processing RAID commands (otherwise your CPU will be doing that work if you use one that comes on your motherboard).
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.