Still confused - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 08:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 373
Default Still confused

I guess I want to buy 2 * 256 MB memory sticks, since I've been told they must be installed in pairs.

But when I go on newegg.com, there are tons of selections...

What is compatible with my Dell Dimension 4600 desktop? And which brand should I get? Is it just a matter of lowest price? This seems so confusing....

HELP.......
__________________

bagelred is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubmit=Property

anything from this page, pick your price & buy that
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

someone needs to make sure that standard DDR ram is compatible! Does dell screw up the key? I was trying to help him in another thread, but we never found out.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 02:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
From Dell's service manual for the Dimension 4600:

Memory type


PC2700 (333-MHz) or PC3200 (400-MHz) DDR SDRAM
(non-ECC)
So you can use either Tobes' link for PC 2700 RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubmit=Property

Or this one for PC3200 RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubmit=Property

PC3200 is a little faster than PC2700, and a couple of bucks more expensive.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 03:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

well the thing is that PC uses PC 2700 so that would be the better choice as you cant OC dells
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

If you get the pc3200 you will be able to put it in you next computer
__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 12:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

The computer can either either one, according to its posted specs.

The PC3200 would be a bit faster, between the two.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 12:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 373
Default

OK, seems like the PC3200 is a good choice. I'll choose one from newegg.com. And get the 256 X 2. Thanks...

Any thoughts on which brand I choose? Should I just go with the cheapest one? Thanks again....
bagelred is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

corsair value ram is a popular choice
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 08:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 373
Default However...

The Rosewill brand is about half the price of the Corsair. Does anyone know about Rosewill and think its ok? Thanks....
__________________

bagelred is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.