Still Can't Get My New Build Working!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2006, 06:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default Still Can't Get My New Build Working!!

I still can't figure out what the problem is with my new computer I have recently built. I have had some great input from some of you and have still failed at solving what ever the problem is. So I was thinking maybe some of the hardware is incompatible. So here are my specs and if anyone knows enough about these components maybe you have some idea wheather or not that is the problem. My first thought was that the processor is a Pentium D-915, and the Mobo is a Intel 925 chipset, does the 915 in the processors name mean that it only works with 915 chipset mobos?
MotherBoard: Intel D925XBC Socket LGA775, and it says that is supports Intel Pentium 4s, could this be the problem or should my processor work with this mobo?
The Processor is: Intel Pentium D-915, model#BX80553915. Overclocking to 4.5ghz.
Does the 915 mean that is only works with modos that have 915 chipsets? Thats my main question.
I don't know if it matters, but my Video card is: GeCube Radeon 9250.
thank you
__________________

bobo777 is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 07:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

No it shoudnt matter about the chipset
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 09:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

It seems that your motherboard does not support your processor:
http://www.intel.com/design/motherbd/bc/bc_proc.htm

So, you need to either exchange your CPU or your motherboard.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default

I appriciate the information Trotter. I have come to the same conclustion. Do you think you or someone else thats listening, could tell me more specifically why they are not compatible and what kind of motherboard I should get from this point. So i'm sure to get the correct one next time.
thank you
bobo777 is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 02:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default

well trotter was deff right there. your board doesn't support that CPU at all. just send back your old CPU and exchange it for a new CPU.

if you ordered it from Newegg or Tiger Direct you should be fine...

if i were you i would go with the 660.
KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 12:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default

I got the CPU from ebay and I don't want to change it, I like the CPU, I want to replace the mobo, I skimmped on that, and got a cheap one that had the min of what I needed and was 775 socket. So could someone tell me specifically what kinds of mobos I can use with my CPU.
Here are the specs on it: Intel Pentium D-915, model#BX80553915. Overclocking to 4.5ghz
thank you
bobo777 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 01:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubCategory=280
all of those on that page will support your CPU

also if you do search some more
look for LGA 775
and pentium d
tdktank59 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 05:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Thank you very much, tdktank59, sounds pretty straight forward, but I'm new at this and I didn't want to make another mistake. I want it to turn on this time.
Thanks everyone. I'll try to help all of you out when I can.
bobo777 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 08:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

OCing to 4.5ghz.. Good luck... :\
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 01:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Maybe all you guys that keep saying "good luck overclocking to 4.5ghz" could tell me what it means, and why your having a hard time beleiving that it will do that. I was just posting what it claimed on the package so people could better help me, I wasn't bragging. What is overclocking, and mine says it can OC from 3.9 to 4.5 and it's clock speed is 2.8ghz. what do you think a reasonable OC would be with this?
thanks
__________________

bobo777 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.