stay with my Opty? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2007, 10:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default stay with my Opty?

I've been considering a new build this year, but i dont know whether to go fo the Core or stay with my Opty. I mean i have a AC 64 cooler and a GB of DDR RAM. I was thinking i could just buy a new Motherboard (with PCIe), another GB of RAM and either an 83 or 8600GT when they come out later this year. But on the other hand i could spend alot more money (which is hard to get for me cause i cant exactly work right now) and build a C2D system.

I'm not to taxing on my system, just light weight games (Source and some others) but i would like to atleast keep my graphics up to par (since that is the most important part regarding gaming performance, cause this 5200Ultra is junk).

So what do you guys think i should do? and do note i'm not exactly the richest person in the world.
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Well there's an AMD price drop on the way if you wanna upgrade your processor. I'd stay with the opty, They're plenty fast, especially for just light gaming. I'd just upgrade the video card if I were you, no need to build a whole new system if your current one satisfies you.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

ok, what do you think about the MoBo that i've been looking at:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131530

If anyone has a different suggestion try to keep the price down and no DFI's they're to fancy for me and i dont like the way the HSF mounts on the board, makes it look stupid
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Seems like a solid board, Asus usually makes quality products. Personally I love my 939 DFI. What makes you think they're too fancy for you? It's not a board that's gonna make you punch in every voltage before you can boot windows like some people make it out to be. I didn't even touch Bios on this thing unless I went to OC. As for the weird placement, I suppose it does look odd to some but it works for me since it lines up with the fan on the side of my case almost perfectly so nice cool outside air for my processor.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

well i dont know, i'm just not fond of the DFI's, but he main turn off factor for me towards them is the HSF mount, i have a window in the side of my case and with the HSF mounted like that it looks really weird (and i dont like that).
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Haha, it's fine, they're not for everyone. I love mine but that's just me. If you like that Asus then go for it, What's your current board? Why the upgrade on the board anyways?
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 11:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

well right now i'm on an old POS P4 since my old board (GA-K8U-939) decided to die. but since i'm still on AGP and with an old Nvidia 5200Ultra i wanted to upgrade to a new card that will "rape" DX9 games.
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 11:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Oh without a doubt. If you're on a budget, Then get that asus board and a 7600GT and you're set.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 11:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

well, i'm not upgrading right now i'm waiting on the release of the lower end DX10 cards so that i can get one of them. I'll atleast have something ready for the future of computers (gaming anyway)
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 11:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

See if you can find a Asrock 939Dual-VSTA,It will let you use you're current card untill you can upgrade.

Plus it's a really decent oc'er
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.