Static Pre-Cautions... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2009, 01:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default Re: Static Pre-Cautions...

It all worked fine....I built half last night and the other half this morning. The only thing I have had trouble with is the headers working at the front of the case, but I have not had the time to install all the drivers yet (had to go to school which is where I'm typing from) so it might just be that...

Also, the 8800GTX BARELY fit inside my case which I thought was huge...But at least nothing came DOA!
__________________

Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 12:14 AM   #12 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Static Pre-Cautions...

I never got the front panels in my case to work either. I don't know, its a hit or miss thing.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 04:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 92
Default Re: Static Pre-Cautions...

My first advice is to touch something metal, something grounded, then you're static free... for a while.

However, the most important thing to watch out for, and I can't stress this enough, is do not touch your CRT monitor at anytime while playing with sensitive chips. CRT monitors quickly develop a ton of static electricity on the screen, and the moment you touch that screen you now become a body of static electricity waiting to discharge that static on the first fragile microprocessor you touch. The bright side is, it kinda gives you the feeling of being Zeus, hurling lightning bolts at people.

If you don't believe me and you have a CRT monitor, place your palm up against it. You will hear the crackle of electricity, you will feel the hair on your arm standing up. You will also hear and feel the electrical discharge when the moment you touch something of dense metal (or that which can be considered ground).

And these same rules go for TV sets as well. Stay far, stay very far from CRT monitors when touching the chips and delicates of your computer.

Oh wait, I see you already put your computer together. Well, my message is a bit too late then.

Oh and if you have a LCD type monitor, I have no idea whether that thing creates a static charge.

But I'm not kidding about the CRT monitors. Just a few weeks ago I was cleaning the monitor screen while listening to music, and the moment I touched the screen I heard a loud electrical crackling sound come over my head phones. And to this day, my left speaker doesn't sound right
__________________
HP Pavilion 7920
901MHz Intel processor, 256MB SDRAM,
30GB & 250GB IDE Hard Drives (NTFS)
Audio= Intel 82801AA AC\'97 Audio Controller
Video= Intel 82810 Graphics Controller
OS= WinXP Pro / SP3 (32 bit)
White_Wolf is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 07:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Static Pre-Cautions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by White_Wolf View Post
If you don't believe me and you have a CRT monitor, place your palm up against it. You will hear the crackle of electricity, you will feel the hair on your arm standing up. You will also hear and feel the electrical discharge when the moment you touch something of dense metal (or that which can be considered ground).
Mine doesn't . Just did it and nothing. But yes, it can happen.
Quote:
Oh and if you have a LCD type monitor, I have no idea whether that thing creates a static charge.
No, they don't.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 10:33 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 92
Default Re: Static Pre-Cautions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Mine doesn't . Just did it and nothing. But yes, it can happen.


No, they don't.
I just touched my monitor screen after reading your words and I felt and heard the crackle, just like last night when I touched the screen... so there :P
Hmm, may just be my monitor LOL
__________________
HP Pavilion 7920
901MHz Intel processor, 256MB SDRAM,
30GB & 250GB IDE Hard Drives (NTFS)
Audio= Intel 82801AA AC\'97 Audio Controller
Video= Intel 82810 Graphics Controller
OS= WinXP Pro / SP3 (32 bit)
White_Wolf is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 10:48 AM   #16 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Static Pre-Cautions...

Could be because I turn my monitors off when I'm not using them.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 11:44 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Static Pre-Cautions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Millenniumtiger View Post
The only thing I have had trouble with is the headers working at the front of the case, but I have not had the time to install all the drivers yet (had to go to school which is where I'm typing from) so it might just be that...
Those pins are a PITA most of the time. Especially if they are single jumpers, and not all one unit. My old case was like that, I couldn't get my front mic to work right. Just be patient and make sure everything is plugged in right via the manual.

Shumway had the right idea, build naked, rofl. But if you can't do that, my advice is always caress the metal frame/case like it's a woman.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 03:35 AM   #18 (permalink)
What choice did I have?..
 
SuxoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: TX (Soon CA)
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to SuxoR
Default Re: Static Pre-Cautions...

Correct me if I'm wrong but aren't you supposed to plug in the PSU and have it off that way you will be fine?

Man I usually think of everybody as their avatars...so now Shumway is Silent Bob...naked :/
SuxoR is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 11:48 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Static Pre-Cautions...

all my lcd screen don't build up static. But i clean them regularly.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 11:54 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Static Pre-Cautions...

I have seen dusty ones build up some static, but now in days most chips are being designed to handle high voltage static shocks up to 25,000 volts, that is the point of extreme pain when touching electronics and letting your self discharge, atleast that is the little bit I remember from an A+ course I took 4 years ago.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Static Ip Address frog3764 Microsoft XBox 0 01-09-2009 08:04 AM
Faint Static Noise From Speakers Ithryndil Computer Audio and Multimedia 41 08-17-2008 03:37 PM
Vostro sound static Laotzu Laptops and Notebooks 0 04-11-2008 01:25 AM
Problem setting up Static IP Ares82 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 01-31-2008 12:03 AM
NIC assigning its own Static IP Address...? Ethereal_Dragon Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 09-02-2007 09:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.