Standard heatsink sufficient? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2006, 02:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default Standard heatsink sufficient?

Just wondering if the heatsink for a Athlon x2 3800+ would be sufficient cooling for it? I may overclock it a tad, but not that much. Also, do you need to buy that thermal paste/grease for your heatsink? I heard that the heatsinks now have a thermal pad on the bottom of them so you don't need the grease now or something, or is that just a myth?
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Tyr
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 123
Default

Yeah the stock heatsink will work fine and they do come with a thermal pad on them too. I would recommend buying thermal grease for it anyway because it will work better. Just make sure to get all of the thermal pad stuff off by using some high purity rubbing alchohol before applying the Arctic Silver 5.
__________________

Tyr is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

What's wrong with using the pad? What's the benfit of using the grease?
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Tyr
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 123
Default

It will keep your CPU cooler. You can use the thermal pad if you want but a tube of AS5 is only $6.
Tyr is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Isn't the thermal paste harder to get off though?
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it's not that hard to get off.
anyway, stock cooling is sufficient. if it wasn't, they wouldn't give it to you with the CPU.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Ok then, so you recommend using thermal paste though, instead of the thermal pad? Do you have to remove the pad first, or can you use both?
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Just make sure to get all of the thermal pad stuff off by using some high purity rubbing alchohol before applying the Arctic Silver 5.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I do recommend thermal paste. Arctic Silver is good.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 04:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

agreed. get some AS5. if you are overclocking only a little or keeping it at stock the stock cooler is sufficient. in fact i would reccomend keeping the stock cooler because otherwise your cpu warranty is voided (despite the fact AMD can't really tell you're not using it)
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.