ssd question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2014, 04:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: ssd question

But on that note, the Samsung and the Kingston are normally the same price (for 240gb), theyre both 199. Kingston is on sale for 129.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 04:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: ssd question

and a VERY interesting comparison here.
http://www.hardocp.com/article/2013/..._performance/1
i thought there would be a performance difference, actually in-game.
loading times are not important to me, although im sure it would be novel. and really dont care about widows booting in 12 seconds.
hmm.
looks like my wd blacks will remain. maybe i will get the evo when the kit is in stock at NE back at 100 or so.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 04:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: ssd question

How exactly is a storage device going to increase FPS......I'm not even sure why this is even a common misconception. Biggest advantage is not waiting literally minutes for BF4 or modded Skyrim to load. People with SSDs are in game before people with HDDs and I've experience this first hand. Wasted time on loading maps means wasted time not playing.

SSDs do more than just what you think. Try to remember, HDDs and even SSDs are still the slowest parts of our computer set aside from optical drives which barely get used. THe difference is in latency, not raw speed. No seek times, no moving parts. The SSD knows exactly where your file is to load it instantly. Not to mention, a lot less heat in the case and a lot less power draw. Loading things that are much more important like Photoshop isn't a complete bore or waste of time. Accidentally close it? (like I do a lot) No big deal. The comparison video in my sticky thread gives a good example just how much of an advantage they are.

Seriously, get the SSD and use it for a few weeks. Then, go back to your HDDs. You'll then notice why they make such a difference.

Edit: My apologies, I just realized this came off really rude. Wasn't meant to be, just a bad day.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 04:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: ssd question

yeah i never understood why they would equate to better game performance, which that article explains.
i have an auto notify set for when the evo 120gb desktop kit comes back into stock, its 105 + shipping (prolly 4 bucks), or at least it was...could be 125 when it comes into stock this time. and i want the bracket and migration software.
when it does, i will almost certainly buy it. if only for OS, bf3/4 and titanfall. i was just thinking i could put that money somewhere i needed it more in my system. but then i was like "ive got everything i need to completely overhaul my rig...except the ssd"... lol.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 04:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: ssd question

Migration software isn't needed, as you would be better off doing a fresh install due to your RAID setup.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 04:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: ssd question

i dont use RAID
and i DEFINITELY dont have time to mess with a fresh install if their software works.
all reviews say its stellar.
but i would have to do some serious clean up because my boot partition is ~70gb.
BTW, how much will windows (7) see on the 120 after format?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 05:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: ssd question

One can only assume when you mention your drives as a pair "WD Blacks".

All cloning software works, well most of them. Doesn't mean it works the same as a freshly installed OS. Not to mention you're moving to completely different hardware setup.
You can download their software free from their site.

Every drive will be different. One of mine is 90GB, the other is 111GB. Depends on how overprovision is setup.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 05:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: ssd question

yeah i think i have four or five of them i cant remember.
interesting, didnt know you could get it from samsung but i just looked and yep.
yeah i know but im hoping to wipe my drivers and install new hardware and presto chango.
not recommended i know but you gotta understand bro time is a premium around my house.
not like before when i could re-install every few months.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 05:43 PM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: ssd question

i cant find anything telling me the useable space after format. weird.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 05:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: ssd question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nagasama View Post
yeah i think i have four or five of them i cant remember.
interesting, didnt know you could get it from samsung but i just looked and yep.
yeah i know but im hoping to wipe my drivers and install new hardware and presto chango.
not recommended i know but you gotta understand bro time is a premium around my house.
not like before when i could re-install every few months.
Same here, but it takes me no longer than 45 minutes to install Windows and all of my programs. Since I use my machine to edit and game that's a lot. Just all in how you set it up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nagasama View Post
i cant find anything telling me the useable space after format. weird.
Because like I said, each one is different. The last 120GB EVO I did was 112GB like how mine is 111GB.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.