SSD Question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2012, 12:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: SSD Question

In theory, after writing around 3200GB and reading around 9000GB from my 60GB OCZ Vertex2 SSD, I still have a projected life span of another 6-8 years, and this drive only being a year old and having 7932 hours on it. Yea, max writes are a bit >_<, the issue comes to garbage collection and TRIM these days IMO.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 05:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: SSD Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
I wouldn't put them in RAID unless the controller supports passing TRIM functions.
I don't see why it wouldn't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahiv87 View Post
I was about to start a thread pretty much asking the same question. I just bought another m4 256GB and im a little ignorant when it comes to RAID. If i put the 2 m4's in RAID, will i have to re-install Windows? I just put my PC together about a week ago and i dont want to do a re-install already. My original plan was to just put the second drive in there separately.
Any time you make a RAID array the partitions and drives in question get a fresh format, so that's a yes.

After full reading the OP with coffee in me, I rephrase my original post to say just use one of those drives as your main drive till you get a new motherboard. Unless say you get a new one next week or something.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: SSD Question

Last I heard, trim function is not supported in any raid config yet
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: SSD Question

Only certain Intel controllers support passing TRIM functions via RAID. RAIDED SSD's are a big no-no for that reason alone, unless you want to sit at the windows logon prompt a few hours a week letting the drives Garbage Collection system kick in. From my understanding the system won't work at any other point for some reason.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 08:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: SSD Question

Meh TRIM is entirely overrated IMO. My first gen SSD didn't support TRIM and I used it for 3.5 years without any real performance degradation.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 10:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: SSD Question

But you aren't a typical user either.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 11:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Default Re: SSD Question

So, dont RAID my SSD's? I just install and format the new and leave it secondary?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 04:27 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 63
Default Re: SSD Question

Having a secondary SSD is good for running programs or games just don't use it for storing media.
__________________

mac_attack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ SSD question. ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 16 10-21-2011 05:10 PM
SSD question Jbarton2009 System Upgrades 2 01-19-2011 04:09 PM
SSD question kjlambert System Upgrades 1 01-04-2011 11:35 PM
SSD and case question Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-13-2009 11:15 PM
SSD Question... MenschX Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 14 11-23-2009 04:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.