Sound card setup? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2011, 11:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 48
Default Re: Sound card setup?

Yeah, That one. Oh well then I'll Just stick to my realtek then. One more question though, How does the fiber optic output work? is there a speaker for that?! lol

Thanks guys, I really appreciate it.
__________________

Mario Eats BK is offline  
Old 07-18-2011, 11:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Sound card setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mario Eats BK View Post
Yeah, That one. Oh well then I'll Just stick to my realtek then. One more question though, How does the fiber optic output work? is there a speaker for that?! lol

Thanks guys, I really appreciate it.
It's to output the digital audio to a receiver. This would be optimal for you because the receiver would have better dac's than your realtek chip.
__________________

__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 09:21 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 48
Default Re: Sound card setup?

Yea that one , Oh well then I'll just stick with my realtek. So, What speaker do you recommend? I want a very High quality speaker but not over 1K. What do u have on mind for that? And is there Fiber optic speakers? like the digital output. If there is, I think i'm going for that one.

Thanks
Mario Eats BK is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 09:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Sound card setup?

i think theres a noticeable lag when using optical out audio (that can be corrected somewhat), but i could be wrong.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 09:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Sound card setup?

As I said above, get a Logitech.

I have these and love them:

Amazon.com: Logitech Z-4 2.1 Speaker System with Subwoofer (Black): Electronics
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 10:27 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Sound card setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonalwaysready View Post
i think theres a noticeable lag when using optical out audio (that can be corrected somewhat), but i could be wrong.
Doubtful, since light travels faster through optical cable than a signal will travel down copper wire. You could be right, though I've never heard that myself.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 11:02 AM   #17 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Sound card setup?

i dont think that its a matter of how fast the medium is, as when were talking about 6 foot cables, it doesnt even matter. if your sound was set up with a 6ft string and a tin can, it would only be 6 thousands of a second lag. i think its the processing of the signal. cursory google searches makes me think my assumption is anecdotal.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 10:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 48
Default Re: Sound card setup?

Oh, I'm sorry i repeated the question, lol I didn't see the second page. So yeah, Those speakers look really good. Might be getting one of those.
__________________

Mario Eats BK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
welfare 4.1 sound setup? Kamikaze33 Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 01-21-2008 07:38 PM
Sound Card setup help Seraph Computer Audio and Multimedia 6 04-07-2007 07:03 AM
How does this setup sound? Shando New Systems | Building and Buying 6 08-06-2006 10:32 AM
How's this for a gaming sound setup? j4ckaL Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 09-30-2005 02:00 PM
Does this setup sound good? procagefighter Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 07-11-2005 10:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.