Sony PSU Problem, not user replaceable - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2007, 05:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Sony PSU Problem, not user replaceable

Is my computer an ATX Power Supply?

Will this power supply work: Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) ATX400-PA, version 2.0, SATA, 400W Power Supply - OEM

Do you guys have a better power supply deal than the link posted above?


The dimentions of my current power supply are as follows: Width: 6 1/2" Depth: 3 15/16 Height: 3 1/2"

i dont know abouts its amps and stuff, where do I find that out?

here are some pictures though to see which power supply works or not:









Quote:
Originally Posted by this is my old post, look above for new one and ignore everything that goes below this



Quote:
Originally Posted by sony support
We're sorry for the confusion. The power supply unit of the Desktop is not designed to be user replaceable. If the power supply unit is defective and requires replacement, service will be required. Please review the various service options available below:

1. If your VAIO is still in the warranty period, please call our telephone
support agents for assistance. They will confirm the need for repair
and setup any service required: (888) 476-6972.
TIP: You may be asked to fax a COPY of your purchase receipt.

2. If your system is outside of warranty, but you purchased an extended
warranty plan, you will need to call the contract provider for service.

3. If your system is outside of warranty, and is not covered by an extended
warranty plan, you may take the computer to any local computer service
center for diagnosis and repair (Sony will not recommend or endorse a
non-Sony servicer). Or, Sony offers our VAIO service center. You can find
Sony's repair information and initiate service for your VAIO at:
Sony eSupport - Service & Repair

Thank you for the opportunity to be of assistance.

Your Sony Email Response Team
Basic recap is that I bought a video card, it requires minimum of 400 watts, my sony pcv rs 430 g only has 300 watts.

Any idea on what steps I can do now? I'm screwed. I bought my video card at newegg. you think I could return it even though its opened and stuff but not used?

What consequences will I face if I put the video card that requires 400 watts into a 300 watt? (like can it break my computer etc...?) Many people said that they have 300 watts and can run video cards that require a minimum of 400 watts.

I was thinking that maybe I could buy a new case and move all my stuff on my computer into it?
__________________

akasixcon is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 06:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Sony PSU Problem, not user replaceable

You really did not need to open up a new thread but ok heres what I would do.

Put the card in and try it...if it doesn't get to windows then it won't work. If this is the case then you could buy a new case for about 15-20 bucks and a new PSU for about 35 bucks and then put in the card.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: Sony PSU Problem, not user replaceable

Well, of course they will says it's not user replacable, it's a propriatary computer. But if it's the truth, then you could go ahead and move everything to a new case along with getting a new PSU.

You could try to install the video card in your current setup, and if it boots, good, and if it stays stable for an extended period of time, then great. But if your PSU can't handle it, then it may not post at all, or crash/shutdown shortly afterwards. If that happens, then just yank out the video card and not much can be done in that case other than moving the guts into another case.

For the most part, PC parts are replacable, you could also just get a new PSU, 500w or more (just for the extra leeway), and test fit it in your Sony PC, and hey, if that ends up working, then Sony was just trying to make some more money from you, if that doesn't work, well, you end up with a new PSU, new video card, and then all you need is the case!
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 06:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Re: Sony PSU Problem, not user replaceable

Can you suggest me a new case that would probably handle all the parts of my PC?
akasixcon is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 07:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Re: Sony PSU Problem, not user replaceable

Is my computer an ATX Power Supply?

Will this power supply work: Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) ATX400-PA, version 2.0, SATA, 400W Power Supply - OEM

Do you guys have a better power supply deal than the link posted above?


The dimentions of my current power supply are as follows: Width: 6 1/2" Depth: 3 15/16 Height: 3 1/2"

i dont know abouts its amps and stuff, where do I find that out?

here are some pictures though to see which power supply works or not:







akasixcon is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 08:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Sony PSU Problem, not user replaceable

I would get this PSU right here.

Newegg.com - XClio 450BL ATX 450W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, CUL, TUV, CB - Retail

Highly recommended and 450w is plenty enough to handle a 150-200 card if you really wanted.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 08:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Sony PSU Problem, not user replaceable

Dude why did you post the same set of pictures twice?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 08:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Re: Sony PSU Problem, not user replaceable

I posted a new post and edited the original post since I solved the questions in my original post.

But yeah I have problems with this power supply thing. I've been researching like all the about it.

So this:
Newegg.com - XClio 450BL ATX 450W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, CUL, TUV, CB - Retail
Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) ATX400-PA, version 2.0, SATA, 400W Power Supply - OEM
will work on my system?


Which one is better? (on quality since many suggests FSP)
akasixcon is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 09:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Sony PSU Problem, not user replaceable

quality wise they are very very similar...the FSP I guess may be a little better. But either one is very good quality and will work. The Xclio has 50 more rated watts as well.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 10:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Sony PSU Problem, not user replaceable

idk i never heard of xcilo power supplies
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.