Some general questions... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2005, 03:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16
Default Some general questions...

Hi. I'm new to computer building, but not new to computers. I have a couple questions i need answered before I can continue building my PC.
1. Are A-Bit motherboards as good as my "computer friend" claims? He says they are pretty much top of the line, maybe 1 down from the "best."
2. What are a couple REALLY good companies I can find reliable, long lasting 1GB DDR PC3200 dimms from?
3. Do SATA HDDs really need to have drivers installed before they work? My friend says you have to install drivers for a SATA HDD by first using an IDE HDD to boot the system... ???
4. How does this fan controller communicate to the motherboard to know things like time, and HDD activity? http://www.xoxide.com/logisys-35-dig...ler-black.html
I'm thinking an open floppy sized IDE channel?

Here is my complete system...
1. A-Bit motherboard with AMD Athlon 2.2Ghz PC3200
2. 250 GB SATA HDD 7200 RPM
3. Diablo -nVidia GeForce 6600 256MB
4. Sound Blaster Audigy ZS Platinum 7.1 THX certified
5. Pioneer DVD +/- RW DL
6. 3.5" Fan Controller
7. 2 GB DDR RAM PC3200
8. Logisys Janus case -black

Should be good for a home music studio right?

Add-ons... HDD mountable dual fan cooler, RAM heatsinks with fan to blow air across them, UV and blue CCFT lighting, blue UV reactive IDE cable, SATA cable, and SATA power cable, and hopefully getting a PSOne LCD modified to RGB,a nd fabricated into the case window to swing out and be used on its own, without the monitor...
__________________

riva16 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

A-Bit is not top of the line by any means. It's a value board that usually lacks features and quality. Popular boards here include DFI, MSI, and Gigabyte. There's a few others that are middle of the road, and I'd put A-Bit in the bottom end of my mobo selections.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 03:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default Re: Some general questions...

Quote:
Originally posted by riva16
Hi. I'm new to computer building, but not new to computers. I have a couple questions i need answered before I can continue building my PC.
1. Are A-Bit motherboards as good as my "computer friend" claims? He says they are pretty much top of the line, maybe 1 down from the "best."
2. What are a couple REALLY good companies I can find reliable, long lasting 1GB DDR PC3200 dimms from?
3. Do SATA HDDs really need to have drivers installed before they work? My friend says you have to install drivers for a SATA HDD by first using an IDE HDD to boot the system... ???
4. How does this fan controller communicate to the motherboard to know things like time, and HDD activity?
1) no not top of the line, DFI is then MSI then gigabyte then abit and you can fit asus somewhere there

2) for OCing for with OCZ, for valueselect go with corsair

3)no...

4) there are front panel connectors installed on your case, little wires should be inside your case hanging down. then you caonnect those to the motherboard.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Alrighty,t hanks guys! Helped alot! I'll be sure to look at those other motherboards, and thanks for the options for DDR!
riva16 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 05:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: Re: Some general questions...

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
valueselect go with corsair

Crucial and Kingston are reliable brands as well.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 06:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

im planning on getting some corsair
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.