Some assistance in finding a compatible motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2012, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Post Some assistance in finding a compatible motherboard

I'm new to building computers. I made mine a year back, with the help of a friend.
Two months after making my computer, due to my naivety, I went a bought 4 sticks of 4GB RAM (PC3-12800 (1600)) called Vengance.
I now have the money to get a new motherboard, to make use of this RAM, but I don't want to have to take any chances.
If anyone could advise on a suitable motherboard, that is compatible with my current components (and wouldn't need to be OC'd in order to run the RAM) then I would really appreciate it. Because my current motherboard would need an over-clock, and I don't really want to do that :S

My current components are as follows:
CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 840
Current motherboard - MSI 870-G45 (MS-7599)
2 x 2GB RAM - DDR3 666.7MHz
GPU - Nvidia Geforce GTX 460
__________________

Inafune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 03:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: Some assistance in finding a compatible motherboard

You don't need a new motherboard to use that RAM.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 08:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Default Re: Some assistance in finding a compatible motherboard

In order to use that RAM with my motherboard, I need to over-clock my motherboard.
I don't know how to OC a motherboard, and I don't want to break anything. This is why I assumed it would be best to get a new one.

My current motherboard doesn't support the use of 4 RAM cards; although it does have the slots, but needs to be OC'd to make use of them.
I tried using them. When I turned on the PC, with the RAM I'm trying to use in the 4 different RAM ports, the computer wouldn't boot. My monitor just remained black.
Inafune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: Some assistance in finding a compatible motherboard

Make sure your timings are set correctly in the bios and the speed. You don't need to OC at all for them to work.
Put 2 sticks in at first, and if it boots go in to the bios and set timings, voltage, and speed accordingly (there will be a multiplier). You will have to do this with most boards if these sticks will not simply boot up with auto settings. You can set it with your current RAM too and if it doesn't work that way just simply reset your CMOS.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 07:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Default Re: Some assistance in finding a compatible motherboard

I'll give this a shot. Thanks

I must ask though. If I reset my CMOS, is it going to wipe anything from my computer. I know that the BIOS and the HDD are two different things altogether, but I worry a lot.
Also could you please explain exactly how I adjust the speeds, and what to adjust them too. I found a video on youtube before explaining it, but it made no sense to me.
I appreciate all the help thus far. Thanks!!
Inafune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 04:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: Some assistance in finding a compatible motherboard

No it just clears your bios settings.

When you go in to your bios go to the "Cell Menu".

Go down to where it says FSB/DRAM Ratio. Use the one that makes it go to 1600. Simple as that.

Here is exactly what you need to change.




The yellow arrow shows the area to adjust the timings for the new kit but they shouldn't need to be adjusted.

The red arrow shows where to manually set the RAM voltage.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 04:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
cyberfox24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 9
Default Re: Some assistance in finding a compatible motherboard

No, if you reset your CMOS it just resets, date time and all bios settings to factory default, it doesnt touch your data on the HDD.
__________________

cyberfox24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
assistance, building, components, newbie, upgrading

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assistance with my motherboard upgrade mojac System Upgrades 6 03-20-2012 04:59 PM
Help finding compatible RAM *|EFU|*pcgamer New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-12-2010 02:49 AM
Need assistance finding a UPS Ste Overclocking and Modding 4 10-31-2009 12:01 PM
Need help finding a motherboard. imhiya Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 10-25-2006 11:19 AM
help finding compatible HD bayoufrogg Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-05-2005 01:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.