*SOLVED* add/uPGRADE ddr2 mEMORY - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2011, 12:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default *SOLVED* add/uPGRADE ddr2 mEMORY

I have a ThinkCentre M52-8113D1U.It has 4 slots-slot 1=1024 PC2(5300) 333mhz(closest to cpu)(Kingston)DDR2
slot 2=256 PC2(4300) 266mhz (Samsung)DDR2
Question-Do I keep either or of these two?I am getting a 2gig stick(del.Thursday)DDR2-Samsung,800mhz.Only put the new stick in?Or add it to my PC,slot 1 new stick,slot 2??,slot 3???(other 2 slots are light blue,fyi).Or just discard the old sticks?Hate to get rid of the other 1024 stick,but if it will be more of a hindrence,no biggie.Hope I was able to explain good enough,and thank you for any help.
__________________

KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 12:53 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: add/uPGRADE ddr2 mEMORY

Discard the old sticks and keep only the new ones.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 01:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default Re: add/uPGRADE ddr2 mEMORY

Ok,TY.FYI-It is a 2gb(one stick),so that will be ok?Someone told me it would have to be 2x1,2 1gb sticks,but everywhere I look,there is nothing saying I have to have 2 sticks.
KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: add/uPGRADE ddr2 mEMORY

That all depends on the motherboard. Some can handle 2GB modules and some can only handle 1GB.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default

Attachment 4692Attachment 4692
Hope this shows up.

IBM 8113D1U ThinkCentre M52
System Serial Number: LKRB882
Enclosure Type: Mini-Tower

Board: IBM IBM
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: IBM 2EKT46A 05/22/2009
1278 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory

Slot 'J9' has 1024 MB
Slot 'J10' has 256 MB
Slot 'J3' is Empty
Slot 'J4' is Empty
KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 07:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default Re: add/uPGRADE ddr2 mEMORY

Thanks for all your help.My one 2gb stick is working great.Game settings are on high and my pc is a lot faster now.
KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 04:20 PM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: add/uPGRADE ddr2 mEMORY

Great
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Question/DDR2 durabox Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 11-11-2009 08:37 AM
Ddr2 memory help mdelgado System Upgrades 6 11-06-2008 04:58 PM
*Solved* CPU upgrade PC_Caveman Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-26-2008 07:04 PM
FS: 2 Kits of DDR2 Memory aspire Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 8 07-11-2007 09:01 PM
DDR2 memory brand Kaiser28 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-26-2006 04:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.