SODIMM PC100 or PC133 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2006, 05:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default SODIMM PC100 or PC133

A friend of mine wants to upgrade the RAM of his Compaq Presario 1700 (Productcode : 17XL571). The specs say that PC100 has to be used, but since this is quite expensive, I was wondering if PC133 could be used as well. So my question is, is SODIMM PC133 downwards compatible with PC100. Best regards

Christophe
__________________

Chveu is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes, it will just run at PC100
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

It will usually run, this was the case in my compaq Armada e500. I'd check www.crucial.com to be sure. Just enter your Manufacturer and model number into its system and it'll show you compatible sticks of memory. You can even buy them right from the site if you choose, too.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 12:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Thx for the quick reply.

regards

Christophe
Chveu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.