socket centrino-core solo/duo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 08:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default socket centrino-core solo/duo

what sockets do core solo/duo and centrino use? are they the same? what about celeron M? i'm guessing htat would be the same as centrino..?
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

As far as i know they all use socket 478. Don't know about centrino. I thought that was just a supported technology or something, but idk I don't read up on intel stuff too far.
__________________

__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well they don't use socket 478 at all. they use socket 479 which while actually is only 478 pins is a different socket. there are also two variants of socket 479, that used for the Pentium M Banias and Dothan Cores and that used for the Yonah Core Solo and Duo and soon to be Merom.

Centrino is a mythical processor!!!!
the "Centrino" processor is just one of Intel's mobile processors bundled with their wireless technology. the Celeron M uses the original variant of s479, the same as the Pentium M.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

when ppl say centrino they mean pentium M... thats what i meant anyways...

so i guess by what you said..

if i had a celeron M laptop.. i can't upgrade to core solo/duo merom etc..

i can only upgrade to pentium m banias and dothan.. right?
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Pentium M + "Wi-Fi card" = Intel Centrino Mobile Technology

Core Duo + "Wi-Fi card" = Intel Centrino Duo Mobile Technology



I think I just threw up a little in my mouth.

It happens every time I think about "Mobile Technology"
The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.