Socket 747 vs. 939? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2005, 01:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default Socket 747 vs. 939?

What are the differences? I'm building my first rig on a budget, just wondering if the 3200+ AMD I should get in 939 or 747 (747 saving me money)
__________________

PcMe is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 03:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default

754 is dying. Get 939 cause its faster and better for future upgrades. 754 is cheaper but you will regret it when you want a FX and you have to get a new MoBo.
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 04:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Zanjo
754 is cheaper but you will regret it when you want a FX and you have to get a new MoBo.

If you could afford to get an FX i think you would be able to afford a new board too
Shumway is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 04:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
If you could afford to get an FX i think you would be able to afford a new board too
Lol thats a good point.
__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 06:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

unless your intending to build cheap and use second hand parts there is no real reason to use the old socket.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 06:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

939 supports dual channel. 754 doesn't.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 06:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you cant upgrade with s754 say bye bye to dual cores for you
s939 supports practically anything until the new M2
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 06:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
you cant upgrade with s754 say bye bye to dual cores for you
s939 supports practically anything until the new M2
you can get like a 3800+ s754 though, which i'v heard arn't that bad at all.
which, is what i'll have to do if i don't want to spend for a new mobo.

but, i got the s754 cause it was cheap with some decent power.

it will run my games at 1024x768 w/ 4xaa & 4xaf and source i can top out w/ 90 fps on the video test..and runs smooth in the game. ofcouse, my card had a little something to do with it.

but...i do know that s939 is the future proof for a while now. but...like i've said before...i don't need the top of the line to be happy playin' a game....i just need to place first in TM and have the most kills in CS
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 09:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
939 supports dual channel. 754 doesn't.
EXACTLY, that's the main reason. Also on 939 boards you will find SLI and PCIE.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 09:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

just wait until the new amd socket is released....thats when im building my new pc
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.