socket 370 advice and memory advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2006, 06:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default socket 370 advice and memory advice

I have a question that I need some help on I want to upgrade my computers processor and memory.
My PC is a Gateway essential PC, processor is 433Mhz celeron- if I'm correct this PC should be using a socket 370 frame, if it is I would like to boost the power to at least 600Mhz celeron processor. If this is the case would this computer be able to handle it ? also I am aware that I'll need to update the BIOS but that **** Gateway company has not done another bios update since 5-21-2000 and I my computer has it already, will my PC accept the new processor if the bios is strong enough to detect it ? also my memory is 256MB if I use 2 stick of these will bios be able to accept it ?

I am looking at this website here for socket 370 to figure out how much I can upgrade it to, if I can only boost it to 500Mhz or not at all....... then screw it and nevermind.......

Right now I can't afford a new PC so please don't tell me to buy a new one when I don't have the money to get one.

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 10:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
reggie_da_man's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567

Check on the motherboard to see if the multipliers go up that high. You don't need to update the bios and it should accept the ram. I wouldn't get a celeron, get a Pentium 3.


reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 10:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905

Yeah, don't get a Cele unless you want it to be quiet, I have a Celeron and its a piece a ****.
cyrax is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 12:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 90

Is your socket PGA370 or 370 (socket 7) if its 370 you can't go past 566mhz

I got an old gateway it was
10gb hdd
8x CDrom

10gb hdd
SpoiledBoar is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 12:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon

here is a similar thread....

Here also is a link to the Socket 370 chart I posted in the other thread...
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 02:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956

Ok I just now looked at this chart that Ethereal Dragon posted, my computer uses a socket 370 since it is a 433mhz celeron.
SpoiledBar said if my processor is socket 370 it won't be able to reach over 566Mhz, but what he said isn't making enough sense. I looked at that chart that ethereal gave me and by looking at the processors beginning at 533mhz FCPGA how can my system accept this type of processor which is FCPGA without rejecting it since my motherboard is a normal socket 370 ? if I'm right wouldn't that gateway only be able to reach 500Mhz only and stop there and not 566mhz ?

sorry about this question but I truly need to know what processor this system can handle without any damage. I tried calling a gateway to see if I could get any information on multipliers for my system but they sat there and laughed at me on the phone because they said don't have a clue of what that is and tried to transfer me to sales and get a new system.

My system currently
256MB sd-ram
41.33gig HD
DVD-RW-+ takes 6 hours to burn a movie
Happauge wintv go tuner card
Sound blaster live 4.1 card
Windows XP Pro SP2

Now you see why I'm trying boost this PC's speed and power.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 12:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 90

My CPU was under 533 so you will be able to get past 533.
SpoiledBoar is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 12:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956

I'm about to get this cpu for my system
But I can't find any information on what my system uses on the motherboard 100Mhz FSB or 133Mhz FSB also here is my serial number for my Gateway system
SN: 0018284076
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 12:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

That sucker's gonna be pretty slow. It has a 66mhz fsb it looks like... That is, if I'm reading the sticker right.



<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource:
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.