So.... SSD! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-29-2012, 04:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default So.... SSD!

I'm dealing with a failing hard drive (WD1501FASS 1.5tb) and considering replacing with an SSD down the road when it does finally die. As we all well know, $/gb sucks with SSD's. Is there any discussion about buying say (2) 120gb drives and running in RAID 0 for $250 as opposed to getting one single 256gb drive for $300+?

I'm not concerned about storage space as I have plenty of other drives (internal and external) I can use for archiving, storage, or what have you, but with all of my regularly used apps, with no "extras" like music, video, etc, my system has ~200gb used up. Obviously that wont work on a 120gb SSD. I have no problems storing my music, pictures, etc externally or on a HDD, but curious what the thoughts are concerning RAID 0 for at least some resolution to $/gb.

Am I crazy?
__________________

__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 04:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: So.... SSD!

Honestly, I would go with the SSD. The prices for them have remained constant and even dropped some while platter drives have gone skyhigh.

Even running RAID0 you would be moving slower than running a decent SSD, and you would run double risk for a failed dive.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default Re: So.... SSD!

I'm talking about Raid 0 with the SSD's.... Buy 2 SSD's and put them in Raid 0, or painfully buy 1 larger SSD
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: So.... SSD!

I heard so many problems about doing a RAID 0 with SSDs, I would vote against it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 05:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: So.... SSD!

I missed that part. No, I would go with a single SSD.

I use a smaller SSD for my OS and main programs, and then use a mechanical for data and other programs. It works well that way.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 05:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: So.... SSD!

Ditto. 60GB SSD, 500GB HDD.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 08:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: So.... SSD!

Mine is more like 60GB OS, 250GB apps, 750GB data, 1TB media (so far).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 09:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: So.... SSD!

I agree with Master and Trotter. The speed increase will be minor. I know that you are just mainly concerned about the cost, but I thought that I would add that little bit. Also, is trim globally supported in 0 arrays yet? I don't think that it is, but I'm not 100%. So, if it isn't supported yet, then you can balance that extra $50 cost out with the loss of life on the 2 drives. Since the drives are pretty expensive to begin with for most people, I think that you will probably find it more practical to just go with the single drive. Especially since you aren't really seeking the real benefits of a 0 array in the first place.





And yes, you are crazy.












Crazy awesome
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-01-2012, 08:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default Re: So.... SSD!

From what I can see, TRIM is supported with Raid0 now on all newer drives.

I'll probably end up just getting one drive, but was just curious what most people do... I've never had the need to install apps or store data on other drives... I've always just kept a huge main drive and extras were for large projects or something.

Any suggestions for a drive that doesn't cost ridiculous amounts of cash? It's not really a huge deal but... 300 for a hard drive is insane considering i built my entire PC for 450.





And yes... I am quite awesome.
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 03-01-2012, 10:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: So.... SSD!

180GB Corsair Force Series GT, $255 ($220 after MiR).
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
120GB SSD vs 2X 60GB SSD via RAID 0 llBradll New Systems | Building and Buying 2 02-06-2012 03:35 PM
ocz ssd vs kingston ssd? gordonie Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 11-11-2011 07:28 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
mSATA SSD vs SATA SSD Jayce Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-29-2011 10:11 AM
SSD TRIM Function Intel X25 SSD thesilversavers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2011 10:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.