So I just bought 4gig ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2008, 11:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default So I just bought 4gig ram

I just got OCZ reapars 800mhz 2x2gig sticks.

I got a copy of vista 64 ready to get installed after I get an answer on soem questions !

I had 2x1gig of 667mhz ram before, can I put my OCZ reapers with that ?
Will I see a difference in perfomance since my new ram will "downgrade" to 667mhz.

Would I be better to have 4gig @ 800mhz than 6gig @ 667 ????

Thx !

Metalork is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 11:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
objecterror's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 724
Default Re: So I just bought 4gig ram

The faster ram downclocks it's speed to match the frequentcy of your sticks. If your using 6GB of ram, I'm sure your going to see a lot of benefits using a 64bit OS.

i5 2400 @ 3.10Ghz | 16GB RAM | 500GB + 1TB | GTX 750Ti
objecterror is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 04:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3

Thank you sir

Hmm, for some reason when I add my 2 old 1gig sticks, my PC just wont boot up !

I also tried both slots configuration, wont boot !
Metalork is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 08:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: So I just bought 4gig ram

It could be that the new stuff doesnt work with the old stuff. Or you have to go into the BIOS and manually downclock the new stuff to match the speed of the old stuff to get them all working together.
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram keeps falling out :) IBM/PS1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 08-09-2008 03:50 PM
Upgrading RAM for Dell E-1705 to 2GB Mach1threat Laptops and Notebooks 3 06-09-2008 04:45 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 08:27 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 04:08 PM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 12:24 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.