So, this is a good rig, right? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2011, 12:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default So, this is a good rig, right?

So, I went out and over the last year, figured I had a pretty good rig going. I have an intel i5 750, EVGA 02G-P3-1568-KR GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card, and 8 gigs of ram. 2tb drive if relevant. However, my rig has been performing... less than I expected. Batman Arkam city is pretty much unplayable, Saints row the third is just barely, it gives me some problems when I max out some old games here or there, and battlefield 3... hit and miss. Here I was, thinking I had a good rig, but it's kinda kicking me in the shins and laughing at me. Am I doing something wrong here?

PS, sorry if this is in the wrong area <_< first visit
__________________

Grimreap is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 05:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: So, this is a good rig, right?

what settings and frame rates are you using and getting?
have you ran any stress test tools to find defects if any?
have you updated your drivers?
is your operating system fully updated?
what's your power supply unit?
what operating system are you running?
are your games fully updated?
what are the temperatures for your CPU and GPU like?
have you done any troubleshooting yourself? what are the results if any?
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: So, this is a good rig, right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
what settings and frame rates are you using and getting?
have you ran any stress test tools to find defects if any?
have you updated your drivers?
is your operating system fully updated?
what's your power supply unit?
what operating system are you running?
are your games fully updated?
what are the temperatures for your CPU and GPU like?
have you done any troubleshooting yourself? what are the results if any?
Dual monitor setup, 1920x1080 on one screen, 1600x900 on the other. I generally have to knock my graphics down midway to play some games, saints row I have to knock down pretty hard. Batmans simply unplayable in interior sections. As for framerates, in the 20ish area, sometimes less.
Drivers and games are all up to date.
Power supply is a 650,
Stress test, not since I got this card, no.
Windows 7 64 bit
CPU, not sure, GPU idles around 52ish, 60 when playing saints row 3
As for trouble shooting, I've tweeked settings where I could, didn't get very far. Ran a benchmark using cinebench, CPU got 1.07, GPU 9.32.

Edit: It's worth noting I reformated as well after getting that 2 tb drive.
Grimreap is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 03:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: So, this is a good rig, right?

power supply is a 650 what? model and make?

stress test - you said not since I got this card, were you having problems before too?
what was your previous video card? if AMD, did you uninstall any AMD drivers?

you can keep track of temperatures with a handy tool called hwmonitor.

1.07 cinebench CPU score is really low for your CPU, you should run prime95 and see if you get any errors.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 04:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: So, this is a good rig, right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
power supply is a 650 what? model and make?

stress test - you said not since I got this card, were you having problems before too?
what was your previous video card? if AMD, did you uninstall any AMD drivers?

you can keep track of temperatures with a handy tool called hwmonitor.

1.07 cinebench CPU score is really low for your CPU, you should run prime95 and see if you get any errors.
Well, previous card was DOA, had to stress test that one. My old 260 wasn't as powerful as I would like, so I got my new one.
Plus, reformated, wouldn't have drivers left over anyway, much less on a brand new drive.

Power supply is a TX650W.

Also, after someone pointed out the obvious to me, I tried disabling my second monitor, saints row ran a good bit better.

Edit: After staring at the hardware monitor you suggested... my CPU is hanging around 89-95 on average.
Grimreap is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 08:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: So, this is a good rig, right?

It's worth noting that after de-dusting the hell out of it, the temp dropped to 75C. Still running hot, gonna replace the thermal paste, see if that helps, and get a better cooling unit.
Grimreap is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 09:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: So, this is a good rig, right?

At 1920x1080 you would have to turn some graphic options down in some newer games.

I would start by turning down AA that usually hits games pretty hard.

Some of the newer games will just need to be run on medium with no AA.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 10:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: So, this is a good rig, right?

I've got the same CPU clocked @ 3.4 Ghz.
and I idle at 35-39C
so yeah, your CPU was literally SCORCHING hot.
you could probably BBQ on your CPU.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-28-2011, 11:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: So, this is a good rig, right?

Indeed. Replacing the thermal past tomorow, and adding a better heatsink, probably getting a bigger case and a new mobo and CPU anyway, just want to see if the problem is resolved by the better cooler.
Grimreap is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 10:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default Re: So, this is a good rig, right?

sounds really odd...sounds also as if your CPU is faulty...my AMD 250 II x2 had those symptoms you described. Now i have the Intel i5 2500K clocked at 4.5Ghz and voltages at 1.35 and im still idling at 35C with air cooling.
__________________

__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this a good rig? Crysis New Systems | Building and Buying 13 11-27-2009 02:54 PM
Will this rig be any good? Sic_Transit New Systems | Building and Buying 7 10-21-2009 04:32 PM
is this a good PC-rig? Santuzzo New Systems | Building and Buying 16 02-04-2009 07:48 PM
This a good Rig ?? Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 3 01-03-2007 06:42 PM
Is This Rig Any Good? billru44 System Upgrades 5 12-23-2005 07:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.