Slow QuadCore! 4gb RAM WIN XP - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2010, 10:11 AM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: lowestoft, UK
Posts: 47
Send a message via MSN to KASCOM
Default Re: Slow QuadCore! 4gb RAM WIN XP

glad you are all sorted Detailzmi
__________________

__________________
KASCOM is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:22 AM   #22 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,387
Default Re: Slow QuadCore! 4gb RAM WIN XP

The manual has a misprint about the RAM slots used for dual channel. I had the same problem but I didn't think about that one.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:38 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Default Re: Slow QuadCore! 4gb RAM WIN XP

ya i could barely play sim city 4 haha was laggin. what type of games will the onboard GFX play? doom 3? half life?
__________________
Detailzmi is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 01:02 PM   #24 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Slow QuadCore! 4gb RAM WIN XP

I've gotten last gen onboard to do medium to low settings on Half Life 2. So I suggest that as a benchmark.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 03:27 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
BurningSkyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saint Paul Park, MN
Posts: 139
Default Re: Slow QuadCore! 4gb RAM WIN XP

onboard is very nice to have if your dedicated card goes out. But hey, Its cyber monday, why not buy a decent dedicated card?
Newegg.com - EVGA 512-P3-1240-LR GeForce GT 240 512MB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card

Newegg.com - PNY VCGGTS4501XPB GeForce GTS 450 (Fermi) 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Newegg.com - HIS H575FN1GD Radeon HD 5750 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100283L Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
__________________

__________________
BurningSkyline is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading to quadcore (socket 775) Tuskatappaja New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-01-2008 12:08 PM
Orthos testing for QuadCore? dave39 Overclocking and Modding 12 09-10-2007 11:06 PM
QuadCore Build DawnOfDoom New Systems | Building and Buying 28 09-09-2007 03:30 PM
Will the Q6600 QuadCore work? dave39 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 08-09-2007 11:53 PM
Quadcore question. xarcos Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 06-18-2007 10:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.