Slow QuadCore! 4gb RAM WIN XP - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 10:11 AM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: lowestoft, UK
Posts: 47
Send a message via MSN to KASCOM
Default Re: Slow QuadCore! 4gb RAM WIN XP

glad you are all sorted Detailzmi

KASCOM is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:22 AM   #22 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,955
Default Re: Slow QuadCore! 4gb RAM WIN XP

The manual has a misprint about the RAM slots used for dual channel. I had the same problem but I didn't think about that one.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:38 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Default Re: Slow QuadCore! 4gb RAM WIN XP

ya i could barely play sim city 4 haha was laggin. what type of games will the onboard GFX play? doom 3? half life?
Detailzmi is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 01:02 PM   #24 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
Abstract Hero's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Slow QuadCore! 4gb RAM WIN XP

I've gotten last gen onboard to do medium to low settings on Half Life 2. So I suggest that as a benchmark.
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading to quadcore (socket 775) Tuskatappaja New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-01-2008 12:08 PM
Orthos testing for QuadCore? dave39 Overclocking and Modding 12 09-10-2007 11:06 PM
QuadCore Build DawnOfDoom New Systems | Building and Buying 28 09-09-2007 03:30 PM
Will the Q6600 QuadCore work? dave39 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 08-09-2007 11:53 PM
Quadcore question. xarcos Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 06-18-2007 10:30 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.