Slow downs in Games? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2006, 03:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Default Slow downs in Games?

OK i have been noticing that im gettin frame rate drops in games, i have all the newest drivers and bios for my system, all clean format and everything and everything running stock so no OC here.Example of slows downs mostly in CS:s when i go to a outside map it drops to 30-40 fps from usuall 70-80 fps, and it goes same for other games!

Specs
amd 64 3200 winchester
2 gig ocz
6800gt
audigy2 plat
A8V dlx rev2
550 psu by antec
xp pro sp2
__________________

DJBUDDY is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 04:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default

How big are the servers you are playing on? Sometimes you might need to drop the graphics on something like that. I mean, I don't think you'll notice a HUGE difference if you set some of the other settings to medium or so, if they are all on high I assume. I do mean setting them to medium (or whatever step below what you currently have) as in, set the graphics down to the area that affects you. So if its outside, trying dropping the lighting and other 'outside' textures that would affect it.

Originally I was going to say scan for trojans, viruses, and spyware if you haven't already, but I presume you have. Also, try defragmenting, that worked a while back for me when BF2 was acting up. Of course, you are on a newly formatted HDD. I don't know, try doing all of that anyhow if nothing else works. Sometimes on a fresh install you could skip an update here or there and be VERY vulnerable. I always get the Windows Updates first and I have all my anti-virus/spyware/adaware programs on an external HDD which I install right after all the Windows Updates before I even touch the internet. Then I scan with all of them even on the fresh install and make sure everything is secure. Then I start using the computer normally; haven't had any problems using that procedure yet.
__________________

__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Default

tried all tat, the servers are mostly anywhere from 10-30 players more or less makes no diff still slows down
DJBUDDY is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 04:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default

You positive you have all the updates and drivers, and for that matter, the correct ones? I'm not trying to downtalk you at all, don't misunderstand me. I know I've made simple little 'miss-click' mistakes before.
__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Default

Yea man, everything is up to date, i got the via 4-1 drivers for the mb and everything
DJBUDDY is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 05:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default

You haven't changed any hardware or anything? You sure all of your settings for the game are the same as they were back before you reformatted?
__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 05:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Default

yep, unless i havent changed somtin settings for ma raptor, but i dont remember chaging anything for that besides tat
DJBUDDY is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 08:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well if it only happens in particular situations then i would say it is just those maps that are responsible for the FPS drop rather than a hardware issue. you say you only just noticed it which means the problem could have been there before
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.