Slow downs in Games? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2006, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Default Slow downs in Games?

I get major slow downs while playing games, its comes and goes, updated all drivers and still the same thing, wat can be the problem. Specially in cs:s

Specs
3200 64 Bit athlon
A8V DLX
2 gig of ocz ram
6800GT
Antec 550 psu
Audigy 2
__________________

DJBUDDY is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 12:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

You playing online? Could be spyware, or you might have to stop your downloads.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 12:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

make sure your network bandwidth is not eaten up by other programs or applications when you play 3d graphics intensive games
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 01:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Default

Check all spywere thru adaware and hijack this, and no other software running in teh background, and i checked my resoures durin the slow downs in task manager and no signs of anythign doin it
DJBUDDY is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 01:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Well, it's definetely not your comp. Unless you have your settings too high. Is anyone else using the internet at your home except you? Because if you have a network at your home, and someone is checking emails for instance, it will lag you a **** of a lot.
cyrax is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 02:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Default

I know its not lag or bandwith related cause i cheked played wit a router and wit no router no diff, still get slow downs
DJBUDDY is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 02:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Have you tried disabling your firewall? Does it lag at all during other games?
thebleakness is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 11:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Default

Dont have a firewall, acutally only noticed this during cs:s and not in other games
DJBUDDY is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 01:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

maybe you have the graphical settings on too high. try lowering the settings and the resolution and see if anything happens.
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 02:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

What fps do you get on the css benchmark?
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.