Slot 1 Pentium 2 to 3? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2005, 11:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Slot 1 Pentium 2 to 3?

Hey,
Someone gave me an oldish dual-P2. I'm upgrading it a little. First of all, it's an Intergraph (which I've never heard of), and has two 266Mhz slot 1 CPU's.

Most slot 1 motherboards I've seen on eBay, though they were made for P2 CPU's, can support a slot 1 P3 CPU of up to 1000mhz.

I have NO idea what kind of motherboard it is, but could someone tell me what the odds are of getting a P3 1000mhz CPU to work in it?
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 11:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to silentassassin
Default

depends on motherboard really...what it can handle...i think pretty slim but it is very possible...anything is possible anymore
__________________

silentassassin is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I know Pentium 3's (the slot ones) can go into Slot one, but if you have motherboard documentation you will be able to find out the speed limit, if not google the Information you find on the motherboard, such as brand and model.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 03:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 111
Default

<<Most slot 1 motherboards I've seen on eBay, though they were made for P2 CPU's, can support a slot 1 P3 CPU of up to 1000mhz.>>>

I don't know who made this up, but this is not true at all! It has to do with the FSB and other elements of the motherboard what processor(s) they can take. I have seen a board that can use PII up to 800 Mhz. but that's it, and not all that common.
__________________
The box said \"Requires Windows 98 or better\"....so I installed Linux. There\'s no going back.
GX1_Man is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 06:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah compatability between slot1 PII boards and slot1 PIII's is actually pretty low. for starters you would have to get the voltage right. i think all PII's are 2.2v some PII's are 2.2v but not all i think so you would have to make sure that the board can provide the voltage. slotkets on the other hand seem to have a pretty high success rate.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 09:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what does the FSB go up to?
if it supports up to 1GHZ, I would say it has a 100MHZ FSB, but if it supports a 133MHZ FSB, then all the better.

one thing you can get is a slot 1 to socket 370 converter, so you can put in the later socket-based Pentium 3's into your slot 1 motherboard
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.