SLI & Xfire? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2007, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default SLI & Xfire?

ok if I have a SLI motherboard and I have 2 ATI cards I can use them in Xfire right? I don't have to buy a Xfire motherboard do I? thanks
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 11:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
saladfork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 181
Default Re: SLI & Xfire?

I'm fairly sure that cross fire and SLI both require a different chipset, I doubt AMD and Nvidia would make dual card solutions compatible with each other.
__________________

saladfork is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 11:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: SLI & Xfire?

It's common sense that you would need a motherboard, that supports Crossfire, in order to use 2 ATI cards in Crossfire.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 12:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: SLI & Xfire?

ok thanks one more quick question... I am getting a new motherboard cause I wanna overclock and the one I have now dosn't let me at all. Well after I get XP installed (cause I was just gonna clear my hard drive of everything and start again clean) is there any order that I have to install the drivers or dosn't that really matter? thanks I have never done this before and I dont wanna get anything messed up.
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 12:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: SLI & Xfire?

When you're done installing Windows, the first drivers you install, is the motherboard drivers, such as drivers for the ethernet, chipset, audio, etc...

Then install your video card driver.

After that, you update Windows, through their Windows Update website.

...well that's the way I do it.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 10:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: SLI & Xfire?

ok thanks a lot
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.