SLI Worth It Or Just A Waste of $$ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2005, 08:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 96
Default SLI Worth It Or Just A Waste of $$

Hey,

I'm looking at getting a mobo that has SLI (Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe).

I'm getting a GT7800... and really dont want to get 2 of them. Does SLI do ANYTHING for 1 video card?

should i have SLI for the future? do you think it'll ever be REALLY needed?
__________________

billru44 is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

i don't think SLI has anything to do wid just 1 card. i don't even think SLI will be really needed cuz it's expensive. i think that Nvidia and ATI is finding another solution for marketing multi-gpu's.
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

a waste of money unless you have lots to throw around. Id rather hope graphics card companys can come up with better ways to increase graphical performance rather than putting more cards in. Buy a sli mobo incase some new developments come about best to be safe.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 11:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

SLI won't do anything extra for a 1-video card system, but it's a nice thing to have just in case. I'm getting it in my next system so that when the time for upgrades come I can just pop in a second video card and be done with it, lots easier and cheaper.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

This should answer all your questions:

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=79791
beardo526 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.