"SLI Selector cards", "SLI Bridges" whatever you call them... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2006, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default "SLI Selector cards", "SLI Bridges" whatever you call them...

I have a biostar nforce4 sli motherboard that came with one of those SLI selector card things that plug into a slot between the two SLI slots to allow the two cards to communicate in SLI mode...

I recently gave away that little thing on accident, and wont be getting it back. Do you know if those things are universal on all SLI motherboards? Or would I have to buy one thats from Biostar?

I looked, and some sites sell the ASUS sli selector card for as much as $45


Anyone know a good site to buy these things, and if any brand will work on my motherboard? Or...if you happen to have one you wont be using I'd gladly pay a little $$$ including cost of shipping
__________________

quiq is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 12:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

I have seen them for asus boards and dfi boards and they were definately different sizes. my guess is that they are proprietary and you would have to get one made specifically for your board.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 01:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default

Dang.

To clarify it is the SLI "bridge connector" I need, I do still have the selector card
quiq is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 01:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

So you have the thing that goes on the motherboard and you need the thing that connects the top of the two cards?
http://images10.newegg.com/NeweggIma...138-253-03.JPG
Is it the little red thing under the CD?
OR
http://images10.newegg.com/NeweggIma...138-253-02.JPG
The card between the two PCI-ex slots that says "SLI NF4"
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 01:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default

The links dont work for some reason.... But yes, I have the little flat thing that says sli nf4, that was always lodged in the motherboard. But it is the weird shaped red bridge connector thing that I lost..
quiq is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 01:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

You could try calling/emailing Biostar and see if you can get a replacement.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 01:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

you could always e-bay the part. If you're feeling ingenuitive, you can afro engineer your own. That's what I'd probably do. American ingenuity is irreplaceable.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default

I guess I could always try calling biostar and see if their nice. Ebay doesnt have anything but Asus last time I checked.

I have the ingenuity of a 2 year old. Funny thing is, I dont plan on running SLI anytime soon, sometimes its more cost effective to keep selling your used cards and buying a single newer one, but its nice to know you could run it if you wanted to
quiq is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Well if your not going to run SLI, why would you spend $45 on a piece that you might use? Here read this. You might kick yourself if you've already found one.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=79791
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.