SLI Ready and CrossFire Ready - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2007, 12:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 341
Default SLI Ready and CrossFire Ready

Hey everyone, What does SLI ready mean? and What does Crossfire Ready mean?
__________________

D-Rocks is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: SLI Ready and CrossFire Ready

SLI or Scalable Link Interface is a technology so the computer can run a pair of video cards are the same time. Crossfire is the same. SLI is for Nividia brand video cards and Crossfire is for ATI brand video cards. Now why is SLI good? It splits the video into two parts so that each card can work on half a screen, resulting in better performance. Nowadays, video cards are so decent that SLI is only preferred by enthusiast or hard-core gamers. If you're building a PC, SLI or Crossfire is not needed.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 08:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 341
Default Re: SLI Ready and CrossFire Ready

What does Viiv Ready mean?
D-Rocks is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 09:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: SLI Ready and CrossFire Ready

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolIce348 View Post
What does Viiv Ready mean?
ViVe: Information and Much More from Answers.com
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 10:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 341
Default Re: SLI Ready and CrossFire Ready

If you had to recommned a motherboard what would you pick?
D-Rocks is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 12:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default Re: SLI Ready and CrossFire Ready

what socket?
Transerver is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 10:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: SLI Ready and CrossFire Ready

Intel, go with a p35 chipset board, AMD go for something that supports AM2.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Big-ticket sli / crossfire setups worth the money? Aesrin New Systems | Building and Buying 49 10-05-2007 07:32 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.