to SLi or not ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2006, 12:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default to SLi or not ?

is there any performance difference between a SLi board and one thats not ? i plan to buy the 7900GTX and dont think i'll ever need SLi. but if there is no related performance issues i might as well go ahead and get it. any known issues with running single card in double board ? thanks.
__________________

__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 02:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to socom36252
Default

I have a Asus A8N-SLI premium motherboard. At the moment i only have one 7900gt and it works great. The board is quiet because there isnt a fan on the chipset. It uses a heatpipe. I think you should go with an sli board because you say you dont think you will ever go sli but if you decide you want to especially with two 7900gtx that would be freakin crazy fast. Asus makes great mobos and my as an amazing overclocking ability. Mine came with program the i can actually overclock my cpu while in windows not even using the bios. It also shows the temp of the cpu and fan speed.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 6000+ X2
M2N-SLI Deluxe
eVGA 7900 gt superoverclocked
WinFast TV Tuner
2 gb of Crucial DDR2 800
120 gb sata2 and 250 sata2
dvd-rw
dvd/cd-rw
500 watt psu
Windows XP Home
socom36252 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 02:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce SPP 100 ATX AMD is what i have picked. if one ever needs to SLi two 7900's they are playing to much for me to handle. it would be awesome though. who knows one day that could be the minimum required.
so an SLi board and a singe boards performance is the same with only one card ?

when you say heat pipes... what you talking about ?
__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to socom36252
Default

well by heat pipe i mean there is a metal heatsink ontop of the boards chipset. From that heatsink there is a metal pipe that transfers the heat from that chip near the back of the mobo making low heat and dead silent. look at picks on newegg.com. You board i believe has two of those.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 6000+ X2
M2N-SLI Deluxe
eVGA 7900 gt superoverclocked
WinFast TV Tuner
2 gb of Crucial DDR2 800
120 gb sata2 and 250 sata2
dvd-rw
dvd/cd-rw
500 watt psu
Windows XP Home
socom36252 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 09:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

cool. it should stay real cool for what i paln to do. thanks
__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 10:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 60
Default

You may want to go SLI when UT2007 comes out if you are into that kind of game. Always keep that an option, because that game is going to be a hardware killer when it first comes out.
BioT3ch is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 02:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

right now i'm not any kind of player. i have never played any game on my PC only thing i've done is N64. but i want to when i get this built and get high speed net. i'll probably start slow and build up to the good games. thanks for the head up though.
__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 04:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
odysseus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 302
Default

no dude have u read the SLI/crossfire guide???(http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=79791)

basically you don't need to SLI unless you are some sort of elitest gamer who has more money than they know what to with it. If you are finding that your graphics card isn't up to snuf then wait to buy a new one.

It would only be worth it unless you found it on eBay for like $50
__________________
Dell M1530
odysseus is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 04:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

thanks i'll read that as soon as i can. i'm leaving work right now. working 7 days to try to buy all this stuff. i glanced at it and think that is what i need to read about. i'll be back.
__________________

__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.