SLI GTX 560 on Crossfire Mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2013, 04:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
steve10765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 635
Default SLI GTX 560 on Crossfire Mobo

I was thinking of buying a used GPU on Ebay for $70 or cheaper. The problem is my Mobo is Crossfire only.

- If I get a 2GB 560 will it use 2GB VRAM or be limited to my current 1GB VRAM 560?
- What do you guys know about the SLI hack? Have any of you used it? Is it reliable?
- Can I keep drivers up to date with the SLI hack?

MOBO

I am not sure if I might want to SLI in the future, but I would like to know if I can.

SLI info HyperSLI (Enabling SLI on non-sli motherboards) - techPowerUp! Forums

And yes I will test the GPU with Furmark for a long time
__________________

__________________
Intel i5 4640 - XFX R9 280
Corsair Vengeance 8GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB Seasonic 620W PSU
steve10765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 09:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: SLI GTX 560 on Crossfire Mobo

1: You will be limited to the card with the lowest amount of VRAM. SLI and Crossfire mirror their buffer and so you're limited to the card with the lowest amount.

2: I've used it before in its infancy state (2009/2010) and it worked and did last year with HyperSLI. Bout all I can say, as I did it on a 790FX board, and P55 board. Is it reliable? Not really, see below.

3: No. Most driver updates break the SLI hack and so you need to wait for a HyperSLI update before updating drivers.

It should work decent on your motherboard, as you can do dual 8x mode whereas my Crossfire only boards were 16/4. That hampered things a lot. In my totally honest opinion, it's not worth the hassle.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.