Sli - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2005, 02:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 43
Default Sli

Ok. Here's my question. If i decide to SLI, do i have to have the same developer name? I have an evga 6600gt. In other words do i have to have the same EVGA card? Can i get another 6600gt but from a different manufacturer?
__________________

ilyushin is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 02:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

I'm pretty sure they are the exact same card
but then mabe a different heatsink, etc. so I would say you don't have to have the same ....but don't bet on me or quote me or do anything based on my comment^^
__________________

__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

they have to be two identical video cards. meaning the exact same
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

O really, i didnt knoww they had to be EXACTLY the same
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 06:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

EXACTLY the same. No eVGA 6600GT with a BFG 6600GT.
Flanker is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 06:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
EXACTLY the same. No eVGA 6600GT with a BFG 6600GT.
Their have been cases where I have heard this happened.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 08:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 43
Default

Oh reallly? So i would need to get the same exact card then. That's perfectly fine with me. It's just it would be nice to buy one of those nicer looking ones. But you can't get much nicer than a EVGA. Looks nice but the color is boring.
ilyushin is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 08:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

Ooo I didn't know that thx guys^^
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 12:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 70
Default

Well, nVidia is going to take off some restrictions on SLI.
In future drivers, you'll be able to mix two different brands, different bios, and maybe even different GPUs.
the current driver enables you to activate the sli function without the sli bridge.
__________________

amdrocks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.