Sli? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2006, 01:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 98
Default Sli?

So i picked up another 7600GS SLI card hooker it all up and started the box up but the computer was SUPERR laggy
now is this becuse ive gotta go buy one of them SLI power units?
and if so whats a good one to get and also im runnin a stock 450watt ps so im guessin ima have 2 upgrade?
__________________

__________________
AMD 3700+ 64-Bit at 2.8ghz
Gigabyte K8 Triton Series nForce 4 SLI Motherboard
e-GeForce 8800GT 512mb
1GB DDR400 Hyper X
200+100+80GB HDD
19" Acer WideScreen LCD
AMD 3200+ 64 is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 08:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Org
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 138
Default

If you get a new one I've been told this ones good.

Rosewill RP550V2-S-SL 550W SLI Ready-ATX 12V V2.01 Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182031
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
-ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 1600
GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P 790X Motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 4850 1GB GDDR3
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Antec Three Hundred Black Tower
Org is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 09:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Not a reliable brand of power supplies. I suggest either one of these instead:
Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-480 ATX12V 480W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, TUV, CB, FCC CLASS B, CUL - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103929

Antec True Power Trio TP3-550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply with Three 12V Rails 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, FCC, TÜV, CE, C-tick, CCC, CB - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371002

Well I don't think it's laggy because of the power supply. Maybe it's a video card driver issue, or more ram needed.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 11:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
Well I don't think it's laggy because of the power supply. Maybe it's a video card driver issue, or more ram needed.
Agreed... if it was power you would get random shut offs, or BSOD's, etc... I would try the drivers first...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 98
Default

hmmm well the motherboard has a 24pin hook up but i only have the 20 pin hooked in becuse my power unit does not hacve that extra 4pin so could that be the problem to the lag?
__________________
AMD 3700+ 64-Bit at 2.8ghz
Gigabyte K8 Triton Series nForce 4 SLI Motherboard
e-GeForce 8800GT 512mb
1GB DDR400 Hyper X
200+100+80GB HDD
19" Acer WideScreen LCD
AMD 3200+ 64 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 04:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

I disagree my friend has had a rosewill 450w PSU with a blue LED light for over a year and it hasent failed him yet. I also have a the newer version of that 450w and it works like a champ with many connectors. I trust Rosewill as I havent head of too many of them dieing before.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 05:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Ive had the same stock PSU for 7 years , i agree my pc is hardly demanding with a Radeon 9600 and 1Gb Ram and a Athlon XP 2600 ... yes im ashamed XD soon to be upgraded though with a AM2 3800 and Sapphire Radeon X1950XT.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.